We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“classy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

awesome location with excellent service. Perfect for seeing the sites of the city! Ideal location for the Womens Half Marathon event in November.
The service is outstanding and the valet service was awesome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    429
    156
    46
    28
See reviews for
320
571
48
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friend and I ( I was visiting from Ireland) visited St Pete's for a day and at the end of our wonderful day we thought we would finish our great day off by eating dinner at the Vinoy. We had the early dinner special with a limited choice at an affordable price. Yes, you get what you pay for but I would at least expect the small helpings to be of a high standard and they were not. My friend had the lamb shank which seemed to have been marinated in rosemary forever.....it just tasted rosemary. She did not and could not eat it. Our waiter, who crowded us for the short time that we were there eventhough there was only one other table occupied at the same time, took it back to the kitchen for a replacement. The replacement was no better and so she had no main course. Both starter and desert consisted of very little. She was not charged for her main course but this did not take from our over all dissapointment of eating in the Vinoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienneplatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Great experience with every staff from check in, valet, housekeeping to pool attendant.. Great hospitality, great location.. Made our anniversary an unforgettable time. Thank you, vinoy renaissance team!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Renaissance Vinoy… oh, what a wonderful place this is, full of charm and character. Rooms are spacious with great views, beds are so very comfortable. The entire hotel is elegantly appointed and tours are offered regularly to hear the interesting history associated with the place. Staff is outstanding and the hotel is situated in walking or biking distance from just about any place that’s worth going to in St. Pete. Restaurants in the hotel are very good but there are lots of great places to eat close by and beautiful gardens to stroll. The marina is just across the street for boat tours and fishing. Didn’t take in the golf or spa but the pool was lovely. One thing to know in advance: unless you let them valet park your car, you must park in the garage ($7 per day), and it’s quite a haul from there to the rooms. Ask staff to help with luggage (they won’t let you have a cart yourself) or bring wheeled items for easy carry. Outstanding historic hotel, we’ll absolutely be back!

Room Tip: ask for something closer to the parking garage, and something with marina/bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

One of St. Pete's oldest building remodeled to modern comfort. Nice details like the working clock hand dials above the elevator. Classic lobby, excellent lunches. After walking the area, which is great, the front porch of the Vinoy is the place to spend the morning or evening time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
154 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was very nice. Staying here was like a mini vacation in itself. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was roomy. My only complaint about the actual room was I wish there had been a coffee maker in the room. The valet service was excellent, the gym was very nice, as was the pool area. The bar had a fun atmosphere to it. Overall, this place is very nice, but I think it is somewhat overpriced for what it is seeing as how two nights equaled $450+ and that was even at a discounted price for being associated with a wedding to be held there.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarita377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We just checked out this morning - and I'm already trying to figure out when we can go back. We originally booked for 2 nights (Fri/Sat) for our 4 year anniversary, but ended up booking a 3rd night while lounging by the pool on Saturday. It was 'Ribfest', so things were a little crazy - but it didn't seem to matter. The entire staff seemed to treat us personally, even remembering us. Last night, the server forgot to bring us a glass of wine that we had ordered. When she figured it out - she gave it to us on the house. Overall, it might be a little expensive, but hopefully if you're staying here, you've put a little aside to just lounge and enjoy. You can walk to many, many restaurants. Make sure to wait for the shuttle at the beginning of the pier if you head that way. It's a bit of a walk. I could go on with the Pro's, but I don't think I have to. let's just say I was a 'little' concerned with some of the ratings I read here - and I'm glad we went anyway! Oh, the workout room/gym is probably the best of any hotel I've stayed at! Pool is fantastic, drinks and bar food is great. OK, I'm done.

Room Tip: We were willing to pay extra for a balcony with water-view. They didn't have any, so they upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 41 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#8 of 41 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
8.1 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Birchwood
The Birchwood
#16 of 41 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 5th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing