We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic charm and modern appeal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

While a historic property, the Vinoy doesn't feel "old." Rooms are spacious and well decorated; the fitness center is one of the best I have ever experienced; and there are five on-site dining options ranging from casual to upscale (I particularly recommend the Sunday brunch at Marchand’s Bar & Grill). The Vinoy's waterfront location is also perfect for exploring St. Petersburg's active downtown. I was able to easily walk to the city's many world class cultural attractions including the Chihuly Collection, The Dali Museum, the Museum of Fine Arts and the Mahaffey Theater. The only element of the Vinoy that I found fell short was its spa -- the services were great but the facility is cramped and not on par with the rest of the property; however, I was told that plans to improve the spa are a priority.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the bay offer the best views. Also, if you want a balcony, request to be in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdpndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,526 - 1,532 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

I personally would not rate it a 5star luxury hotel. Though a lot has been updated, and on the surface it seems nice but it is the little things that make it seem not worthy of the luxury 5-star rating. For example the plumbing seems to be old- every time the water runs it makes a tremendous noise.The bathrooms were not cleaned thoroughly-whatever falls on the floor remains there. The beds are beautiful and comfortable but the sheets are not changed daily.The room had a slight musty smell.And this was in the upgraded suites.
Also, it seemed to be filled with mature guests. Because it was Thanksgiving, there were lot of families there.But mostly older guests. There is not much to do at the hotel itself and our teenagers got bored .Luckily, the downtown location helped- they could walk over to the IMAX theater, etc.Room service is a bit tardy,but overall good.Parking is not free.
The morning restaurant staff is not very alert.We normally had to wait at least 7-10minutes for the server to even approach the table.One day we had to wait for over 15minutes for someone to serve us- this was when the restaurant was empty.The staff though not unpleasant , seems too busy to be disturbed. Front desk, concierge, bars, you have to wait until they decide to look up and acknowledge you-mind you this was when there were no other guests they were attending to. Since we are used to being greeted and helped on approach at most other luxury properties, I felt a bit disappointed with their attitude.

On the upside, it has a beautiful old architectural building. It has a beautiful lobby where you could sit and relax, enjoy drinks. It is a beautiful building.The location is excellent.Walking distance to downtown restaurants and clubs. We were there during Thanksgiving, and the downtown was converted to a picturesque wonderland with lights, buggy rides, bands, etc.
So all-in-all, if you get a great deal, it is worth considering a stay at this property given the location.But only if you go with low expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here to have a relaxing Thanksgiving and also to explore the town of St. Petersburg. I had researched and read about the Vinoy online and, loving old historic properties and homes, I was excited to check in. We were NOT disappointed.

The lobby has recently been redone and everything you have read is TRUE--it is absolutely gorgeous, artsy and welcoming! They hotel has maintained the old charm of it's turn of the century era through the architectural details, ceiling painting in the main dining room, winding stairwells here and there. Yet there is a splash of modern opulence everywhere you turn. The decor is unusually contemporary and it works.

The front porch is a wonderful place to spend hours, either first thing in the morning or upon your return from a long day out. Our room was in the "newer tower" and it was a bit of a walk, but the walk took us through a gorgeous courtyard, past a mesmerizing waterfall, past the spa, all quite enjoyable. We did not mind hiking around the property, coming and going, at ALL. I would recommend to anyone that doesn't get around well that they should request to stay in rooms above the lobby.

My family enjoyed the fitness center (which is not like any hotel fitness center I've ever seen, it was more like a club), we had spa services that were fine (a bit overpriced though and be careful, they included the tip and didn't mention it so I way overtipped for my services!), we enjoyed the fabulous pool and just relaxing in the lobby several times. The food here was FANTASTIC. We had a package that included breakfast and one day we ordered from the menu and the next day there was a buffet. We also had room service the first night. The chef here really pays attention to food quality, everything was homemade and it all worked. Several times as we relaxed on the massive front porch we saw food and drinks being served that made our mouths water and our only regret was that we were not able to stay longer and try everything!

Regarding the room, it was spacious and very comfortable. The Renaissance beds never disappoint and we all slept very well. The bathroom, with the separate water closet and double sinks, was spacious and the way the closet was situated provided a private dressing area, a unique feature in a "standard" room and much appreciated when traveling as a family. I was disappointed at the front desk attendant's unwillingness to place us across the hall so we could view the water/marina. We faced the tennis courts and were high enough to see the Bay from our Balcony, sort of. But the hallway we stayed in for 3 days/2 nights had only one other guest during our stay. In my opinion, at times of lower occupancy, a Rewards guest should be bumped across the hall for a better view, IF THEY REQUEST (without an additional $30 per diem charge). Most lesser hotels will upgrade room views when occupancy is low and the Vinoy's policy seems to be charge for everything, even for "Rewards" guests, so that was surprising and disappointing. The only other negative was housekeeping...although the room "looked" clean, the bed-making was really sloppy (we had to remake the beds and it made us wonder if sheets were even changed from prior guest-not a nice thought), the towels were cheap and threadbare and the shower/tub was not clean at ALL, neither were the bathroom floors (same hairs on them during our entire stay). We asked for extra handtowels (we only had one for three people) for two days and they just kept bringing us more thin bath towels. We asked for foam pillows several times and they kept bringing us more feather pillows. Perhaps a language-barrier issue with housekeeping? One last thing, Wi-Fi is not free!! $15/day. Very surprising in this day/age!

Overall, this hotel was a fabulous and wonderful mini-vacation break and the food, atmosphere, location and proximity to so many activities is SUPERB! If housekeeping and towel quality were up to par, I would give it a perfect rating! Stay here with confidence!

Room Tip: Prior to check-in, ask for a room in the newer tower on the Marina side. Any guests with difficulti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamamooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club made my 3-day getaway to St. Peterburg a rather special one. History, cool design and class define the building structure. Centrally located near shops and restaurants, a pretty well equipped gym, walking distance from The Dali Museum, Museum of Fine Arts and the Chihuly Collection. The front patio was glamourous.The staff was attentive and always ready to help. It's got my seal of approval.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a full view of the bay as they may choose to give you one where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonaldoDaSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The Renaissance Vinoy is a spectacularly gorgeous hotel that is worth experiencing. It oozes the type of old world charm you rarely find any more. Be sure to take a walk around and just soak in the atmosphere, high ceilings, arches, architecture, and all that goes in to making this such a beautiful hotel and resort.

The rooms are good sized and beautiful. Try to get a room with a bay view. And, unless you need a suite or apartment to accommodate a family on vacation (most of which are in separate towers), ask to stay in the main (historic) building.

The restaurants are quite good and the service excellent, though, not surprisingly, they are somewhat expensive. If the weather is suitable, plan to enjoy a nightcap while sitting on the terrace by the lobby bar. Very nice.

The swimming pool is gorgeous. Try to work in time to enjoy it.

The gym / workout facility is one of the best I've evern experienced in a hotel. I was so impressed. Everything was in perfect working order. The amenities were nice. The selection of equipment was exceptional. I wish all hotels could have facilities like these. I know I will look forward to working out the next time I return to the Renaissance Vinoy.

The service personnel I encountered were quite nice. But, there is still a slight smugness one feels that may be attributable to the fact that this hotel has a long history of being a vacation spot for prominent and wealthy guests. It was very subtle but there was a touch of snobbery that I might not prefer. Still, I got great service and will plan to return to this hotel the next time I am in the Tampa/St. Pete area.

If you have read some of my other reviews, you will recognize that I am partial to great historic hotels. This is clearly one of those. I recommend that this hotel be experienced and enjoyed. And, while you are there, be sure to walk down the all on the main / entrance level and spend a few minutes walking through the museum-like display of the hotel's history and highlights, including its brushes with the rich, powerful and famous of the past nearly 100 years.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalNomadTCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

With a new renovation being done that rivals the one done in 1996, I'd love to tell you this place is perfect. It's not. But it is so rich in character and history - not to mention the best location, that there just isn't another place to stay. The staff is wonderful, albeit a bit stretched thin like most places in this economy, but not an unfriendly face among them. With the hotels docking for visitors on boats right across the street, you can ordera dring and rock away the night (in rocking chairs, that is) and just take in what people have been coming to enjoy at this resort for almost 100 years. Ok, there was almost 20 when it was empty and we almost lost it, but what a cool place. All the new staff go through training to learn about the hote's history, and I think it helps to make them very proud to work here. On-site historian Elaine Normile gives a brief historical tour of the place which is very interesting, or just wander on your own. Don't miss the Chihuly white art glass installation in the main ballroom!

Room Tip: Don't get room 108 if you are a light sleeper. While the garden view is beautiful, you can hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Softsoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Loved this hotel...the rooms, the outdoor patio, the location - near shops and the bay and a park to walk around! The most delicious gelato shop a short walk away. Surprisingly we found the food at the hotel to be better than the town's restaurants. Excellent grouper sandwiches and key lime pie!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,457 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#12 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Address: 501 5th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $267 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing