We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My wife and I love this hotel. The location is perfect for whatever you want to do in Downtown St. Petersburg. The hotel and spa are top notch, and most important it is very family friendly and the staff could not be more accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scmo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,598 - 1,604 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at this resort for one night in August after at Tampa Bay Rays game. We were celebrating my parents anniversary, and got 2 rooms for the night. Both rooms were king rooms in the tower with balconies facing away from the marina. Both rooms were exceptionally spacious, clean, and comfortable. We didn't have time to explore the pool area too much, but we did walk through several times and it was very nice, and even had a couple of waterfalls. There were 3 restaurants at the resort, but we only got to eat at one-Marchand's, where we had happy hour the first night, and breakfast on Sunday. Food was exceptional!
This hotel is over 80 years old, and has been fully restored and updated, but still maintains it's old 20's charm. Staff was exceptional, and service was just as great. This also must be a hot spot for celebs and baseball players (we saw a couple while we were there) as there were signs up all over the hotel that said "no autographs or pictures of the guests..." Overall-amazing experience. Wish we could have spent the whole weekend there.

Room Tip: Book a room in the tower facing the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed with family members for my cousins wedding at the Vinoy in St. Pete. The area is spectacular with a marina and a park across the street, many flowers blooming and palm trees everywhere. Bars, museums and restaurants within short walking distance to delight all the senses-vintage Florida architecuture - A most effective revitalization of this older part of the city. The rooms were very fine, and beds comfortable with blackout curtains installed to keep out the bright Florida sun, which is in plentiful supply. The staff was completely cued up, personable, and ever so gracious. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. Only negative that I can possibly scrape up is that the valet parking is 18.00 per day, and there is no Wifi in the rooms. I occasionally heard some sounds from the other rooms - water in pipes perhaps ? and doors being shut a little too heavily, but then the doors and walls are heavy enough not to hear everything else. All in all - FAB place to have the postcard dream of a west coast of Florida vacation !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed here on a business trip because of the location and to pick up some Marriott points. The front desk people were very nice even offered to upgrade me for a price. I am a gold member an this should be done free of charge same with the Internet. The room was clean and the view of the back lot was nice. Had lunch in the main restaurant and waited twenty minutes at the bar before someone took my order. The hotel overall is a pretty cool place and when all the renovations are complete it should be great. I hope the customer service improves as well.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We recently took a weekend getaway to St. Pete and picked the Vinoy because of its historic ambiance and its proximity to Tropicana field, the Dali and the Chihuly gallery. It was a good selection on both counts. The hotel is a neat throwback to old Florida and does a good job of presenting the story of its past. It is also is literally next door to the remarkable Chihuly gallery, offers a shuttle to the ballgames and is just down the road from the magnificent Dali. The hotel restaurant, Marchand's, also offered nice fare in an upscale yet relaxing atmosphere. On the downside, the hotel is currently undergoing som renovations so the lobby is a bit disheveled. And you pay handsomely for the Vinoy experience, which one must realize is an old hotel and may not have all the bells and whistles of similarly priced newer resort hotels.

Room Tip: Bay views are excellent. Non bayviews, not so much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bullzfanzclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed at the Vinoy for 3 night in Old St Pete. THe stay was charming for the most part.
The hotel seemed to be empty and no one at the pool. Our room was nice and comfortable, however if your hotel was lacking guest (August in Florida), you would think it would be the best time to "upgrade" the room. Our room looked over a hotel roof and that is what I suppose I paid for. When I inquired about the view, they told me I could have a better view for $50.00 more per night. In my mind, it is a good business decision to give the "Marriott rewards" guest a little better view. It does not cost a dime to the hotel, but goes a long way to the Guest.
The pool was nice and open until 11:00 pm! But no towels are at the pool for us late night swimmers. So you swim and have nothing to dry off with and I was not the only Guest dripping. THey could use more umbrellas as they were few and far between.
The staff was pleasant and the valet people were the hardest working folks.
Free coffee in the morning, but no hot tea. Hot Tea is just water and a bag. I have to pay $2.50 for tea. Ugh. For a hotel that has no beach, I suppose they cater the the guest who is there for a conference or a event.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debdel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Got the family together and everybody loved it. The room, the service, the food, the history - just a gorgeous place. The Vinoy will be our go-to place in St. Petersburg from now on.

Room Tip: get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pupnpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,721 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Address: 501 5th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $265 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelPower, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing