We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Hotel for the Perfect Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Abington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Hotel for the Perfect Wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

This hotel is perfect for a large group traveling together! The best feature of the hotel was that there is plenty of large spaces for you and anyone traveling with to hang out and socialize besides the meeting/function space. They had a great porch that had tables and chairs with waitress service. The other amazing feature was the hotel is in a great area of St. Pete for walking around. Within walking distance to the hotel were parks, museums and great restaurants. We did not have a bad meal during the entire 4 nights we stayed at the Vinoy. This includes the fabulous breakfast at the hotel.
The rooms are clean and very spacious. I called the hotel for a connecting room to my mother in law and it was given to us no questions asked. The hotel staff was extremely attentive from the room staff to the wait staff in the hotel restaurants.
The only reason this hotel doesn't get a 5 star for me is the pool area needs some updating and i didn't like that the hotel was not on a beach (but that's not there fault).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilbeachmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    452
    167
    54
    30
See reviews for
335
612
51
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed at the Vinoy for a convention I had, then stayed a couple of extra days. As it was 4-5 years ago when we were there, the Vinoy was, once again, a great place to stay. The room was fine and everything was as expected at such a place as the Vinoy. One thing I wish they had was some shade in the pool area. They have the typical umbrellas mixed in with the chaise lounges, but when in the water, there is no area to grab some shade, which I like to do many times. It's a minor detail, but one worth mentioning. I also appreciate the flat-screen TV in the room with actual HD programming.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apopkaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

This hotel was fantastic.

Location, service, quality, value...everything you want in a historic hotel.

My coworkers insist this 1925 hotel is haunted, particularly the fifth floor. Thankfully the spirits didn't bother me during my stay.

Service was great all around, from valets to front desk staff to concierge and housekeeping.

Only negative was the Inncom thermostat that was set to the mid 70s when I checked in, but I was able to bypass it and get the room nice and cold.

Oddly the elevators are super small, and sometimes require you to wait extended periods of time to get in.

The neighborhood is great offering plenty of restaurants, shops and a museum.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IntegrityTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Reeking in Old World elegance, this is one beautiful property.
The view of the water coupled with easy access by foot to downtown museums and a variety of restaurants make this an ideal location.
The har-tru tennis courts are in excellent shape and the gym is decent.
The restaurants are outstanding-
try the fish especially the Grouper, it is as fresh as it comes and delicious!

Room Tip: ask for a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank habanadaydreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

I think this hotel is beautiful, I love the hotel's history, the grounds, the location, the pool and the restaurants. The reason for the average rating was our room. It was very large and the beds were comfortable. However, it was not as clean as I expected it to be. The bathroom smelled terrible, as if it had been recently painted. The bathroom floor and the shower just weren't as clean as they should have been. Additionally, the bedskirt on one of the beds was filthy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeganFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Our check-in was uneventful and easy. Everyone was very friendly. The valet gave us the option to self park. Most appreciated because I like being in control of when I need my car...I come and go a lot while on vacation!
Our room had absolutely no view, but I didn't go there for the view. I wanted to rest and relax. The room was very big, beautiful and really clean. Aveda bath products and plenty of soft towels.
We were offered two newspapers each morning, but neglected to get either our first morning there. I'm not much of a whiner, so I went by the front desk as we left for coffee and gave them a heads up...we had our papers at the door the next morning! :)
The food at Marchand's was excellent! We had Barbecue Pork Sliders and Grouper Sliders.
I highly recommend staying here if you want to be in the middle of everything St. Petersburg has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nevrstp247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night for a semi-local getaway. We were greeted enthusiastically with delicious chocolate chip cookies, which is always a win for me!
The rooms are small because of the age of the hotel bit they're fine for a short stay. The view of the pool and the bay were gorgeous!
I was a little disappointed that the shower tiles were a moldy. I know that's a minor thing but for the expense of this hotel it should be spotless, in my opinion.
The spa services were great and people were friendly. They do a lot of events at this resort so it was SUPER busy, although it was very quiet and peaceful in the room.
Overall, a great little getaway in a perfect location!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoleGirl0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing