We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great value...great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great value...great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

my first time in st. pete. arrived by amtrak from ft. laud. pick up from train station by Enterprise. drove to hotel at night in rain. really appreciated ideal location just off exit of I 275. desk manager, mr. patel, was efficient and very helpful. room was clean, beds comfortable, pillows plump, sheets and towels spotlessly laundered. ac/heat ran well... tv with cable, and free wifi a plus! i wouldn't hesitate to stay here again...a real value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mob52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnightsInnStPete, Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel, the Knights Inn St Pete Florida on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear we were able to take great care of you and make you feel welcome. It's always great to know that we are making our guests feel special as we certainly do our best to create those lasting relationships. We look forward to welcoming you back if you are ever in the St Petersburg, FL area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    12
    19
    37
See reviews for
17
24
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel was just great! Staff was excellent and was so accommodating to us. The room was super clean and the pool area was an excellent place to sit and get some sun. It is a large property and in a nice area. Close to the Interstate (that was a plus).
Will definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Excellent Staff and Clean Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacaguru12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnightsInnStPete, Guest Relations Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our property. We strive to be the best in customer service and cleanliness. We hope to have you back to visit us real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
137 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

For the price ( cheap ).... A good value really...

Nice pool and gazebo area..... Breakfast is minimal.....handy area to so many things ...and literally right off the highway.....the Internet is working perfectly now too. !

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Newporter2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnightsInnStPete, Guest Relations Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments Newporter2551. I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed the upgrade to our internet. We know that having a perfectly running wifi connection is crucial to both business and leisure travel.
We have also been making improvements to our breakfast bar based on comments just like yours.
Thank you again for your review and we hope you will come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hotel under contruction, Had to change my room, woke up to mornings in a row with bites on my arms. They said they would check out the room, never heard anything, no compentation. Would not stay there again

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnightsInnStPete, Guest Relations Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hello Carol W.
Thank you for your response. Your comments were reviewed by management and we then sought the confirmation from a professional pest control company to confirm that there was no sign of bed bugs throughout the facility. We take claims of such nature very serious and please be assured that we do not have any infestation on our property.
Our hotel has since completed renovations and now has on property a full restaurant and bar for our guests enjoyment.
We hope to have you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had called the hotel notifying of late arrival; requested to charge credit card just to secure my room. To my surprise, they held my room without charging the credit card. Fast check-in and friendly staff. Room was immaculate. Great location to access I275 & very close to De Soto Fort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gem6034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnightsInnStPete, Guest Relations Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Gem6034, thank you for your comments on our Knights Inn. It is always our intentions to make our guest satisfied with their choice to stay with us. We know you have a lot of options when it comes to hotels in St. Pete.... our guests are our first priority.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Place
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I liked the location (3 miles from Tropicana Field and next to I-275), the very clean lobby and rooms, the in-room coffee, the fridge and micro-wave oven, the free coffee and juice in the lobby, the friendly counter staff, and the price (under $50.00 pre-tax).

I disliked nothing about this place.

RJT

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJayT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnightsInnStPete, Guest Relations Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments RJayT. I am pleased that we were able to offer you all the comforts of home during your trip away. We hope to see you back again. Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was attending a family reunion in Tampa at another hotel. Upon leaving for my trip back home. The Tampa/St/ Petersburg area was hit hard with down pours of heavy stormy rain as I was on 275 South the visibililty was so bad I couldn't even see in front of me so I exited on 54th Avenue North looking for a place to bed down for the night and I stumble across this hotel (well I wouldn't say it was hotel).

Didn't know where I was but I booked thinking it would not be so bad. I got a NO SMOKING room the minute I open the door I knew I was in the wrong place the room smelled of cigars and who only knows who else OMG!!!! very scary inside that room glad I choice no to take my bags out of the car but was nerve to leave them inside my car all night.

I remove the covers from the bed to sit on but I decided that was not a good idea no telling what would have crawled on me. So I stood up walking the hole time I was in the room.

The door deadbolt lock was not working when I call I was told the rooms on have two lock instead of 3 as all hotels do. Well that did it for me I had to seek other accomodations in the area.

So I waited until I was able to see if the area had better accomodations than this I think I should have took my chances with the storms and tornado's that Tampa & St. Petersburg was having that weekend.

I venture out to see what else was in the area couldnt believe around the 275 there was a beautiful Holiday Inn Express but I didn't see it when I exit the ramp as I said the visibility was awful. I immediately check in shared with the clerk at the hotel where I was he said to me glad you followed your mind to get out of there before dark??? Not sure why that meant but Iwas too.

Went back to check out of the dump & dive hotel from hell. Well I have a great story to tell once I get back home.

But take my advise don't stay there, don't even pull in the parking lot!!!!!!

This place needs to be demolished!!!!

Room Tip: Do Not Stay There!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarrieta55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnightsInnStPete, Guest Relations Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Jarrieta55, Thanks for taking your time to complete a review on our Knights Inn. I can say that since the time of your stay the hotel has undergone some renovations and improvements. I am sorry for your dissatisfaction during the time you came to the hotel.We hope you give our hotel another try, it would be great for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
#30 of 39 in St. Petersburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn ST. Petersburg Central
Days Inn ST. Petersburg Central
#19 of 39 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#22 of 39 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#11 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway
Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast -...
#10 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#24 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana

Property: Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana
Address: 2595 54th Ave N, I-275 Exit 26, St. Petersburg, FL 33714-1973 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If price and location are your focus, along with free Wi-Fi and pet-friendly accommodations, then the Knights Inn Saint Petersburg is your vacation destination! Conveniently tucked between I-275 and U.S. Hwy 19, Knights Inn couldn't be more centrally located. From here, you can jump on the interstate to downtown (which is only 7 minutes away) and check out everything from the Pier and marina, to the nationally renowned Salvador Dali Museum, go shopping at Bay Walk, catch a show at the Mahaffey Theater or during baseball season, catch a Tampa Bay Rays game at Tropicana Field. Plus you only 15 minute away from some of the most beautiful beaches in the world.A two floor, 134 room hotel centered around a seasonal outdoor pool. The Knights Inn offers comfortably equipped rooms with wireless internet, full cable T.V. with HBO and the convenience of in room coffee makers, safes, microwaves and refrigerators. On site laundry facilities, ice and vending machines. Relax outside in the huge courtyard featuring our spacious pool, outdoor seating and tanning deck. Those traveling with furry companions will be relieved to hear pets are always welcome at the Knights Inn (for an additional fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana Hotel St. Petersburg
Days Inn St Petersburg
Days Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing