We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great food but a little too noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Z Grille

Z Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Z Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 872 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1st Avenue South
Orlando
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food but a little too noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great food and bar. We have eaten her several times. Really good service. The acoustics in the place makes it really noisy once the restaurant fills out though. They do have some outdoor seating though where it's a little quieter.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chop75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    78
    29
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Truly Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Located on the corner of a downtown street this restaurant had caught my eye from the first day of our visit to St. Pete. Large windows open the restaurant to everyone walking by and the view is very inviting, divided with the bar on one side and dining tables on the other, seating is a little tight but forgivable, it looks like a futuristic movie set. Soft neon lighting along with overhead hanging accent lights, this place just invites you to come in. But wait what will keep you in the one of the most interesting and well done menus I have seen in a very long time. Trust me I live in Miami and this place caught me attention. We had the Scallops and Shrimp which were out of this world starting from the presentation to their taste. It was the kind of meal that you just savor every little bit. Coupled with some good wine from their very ample selection, this was a very memorable evening.
The dessert was a Chocolate velvet pie with bacon and crushed pretzel crust!! OMG!! AMAZING! Service was excellent, can't wait to come back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
1,182 reviews
956 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“totally unique menu and food preparation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We always enjoy this place. The menu has a unique twist to it bot in selections and preparation. We love the shrimp in lettuce wraps and fried Dr. Pepper ribs. They are both must-order item for our family. Their lunch salads are wonderful as well. We prefer sitting outside on nice days. Service is always good. Another great visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank librarian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique dining experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My boyfriend & I came here just for some beers (we already had dinner & only had room for liquids). Upon seeing their menu, I immediately regretted eating anywhere else. Everything sounded delicious & nothing you can get anywhere nearby. From truffle fries, to fancy chicken & waffles, to DR PEPPER FRIED RIBS. Luckily, we were in town for another day & came back for lunch. The lunch menu wasn't quite as interesting as the dinner menu, but the food was great. Good service as well. If I lived in St. Pete, this would definitely be one of my favorite restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank wooleyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Always something new”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've now had about 25% of what is on the menu, my wife has had some different things, we have overlapped on some items. The specials are always interesting - I had a Pork Ribeye, something I had never even heard of. It was excellent. The eggs always changing is another interesting thing, highly recommended. Plus, a very good selection of beer (also rotating). We've yet to have a bad meal, are looking forward to some cooler weather to sit outside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Z Grille also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Z Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing