We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value of all st pete”
Review of Bayway Inn

Bayway Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayway Inn
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I come to area for biz often. Have stayed at several places but this is by far best deal around. Clean rooms, great service, awesome pool area with tiki huts, central to all. Beaches a 2 min drive, downtown st pete 5 min, great restaurants in area. Very quite & peaceful. And with the kitchenete i had it made it that much better. Great rates for what you get and area. My new place to stay when in st pete.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

First off, this motel is across the street from the former Knights Inn (which is now the Flamingo Hotel). I stayed one evening in May 2013. I'm impressed with this property because they make the effort. It's not perfect, but they try. The entire property is kept clean and in decent repair. The pool area is very attractive and there is an attached but separate upper level sundeck, also.

They offer two rates; for regular room or room with fridge & microwave. I opted for the regular rate. Because of another review of this motel on TripAdvisor, I arrived early to request a room on the pool side. I cannot now recall the specific explanation, but apparently poolside rooms have the fridge/microwave option, so I paid the higher room rate. When I entered the room I saw that it was NON-SMOKING and went back to the front desk. I was assured that it would be okay as I was only staying the one night. Asked for ashtray and was told housekeeping would provide one.

The ashtray was delivered, I believe, by one of the owners. She had ashtray in hand but seemed reluctant to hand it over. She explained that they had no smoking rooms available. I explained that I'd only made the reservation the night before and smoking rsv was confirmed.
I got the ashtray but didn't appreciate the guilt trip.

I would definitely use this property again but ONLY after confirming that regardless of which rate I pay (regular or fridge/micro), I can still get a room opposite the pool. If I am correct, management puts smokers on the side opposite their pool in what amounts to the most inconvenient rooms they have available. That kind of discrimination I can live without.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tr0picana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed the night of March 12th. We started looking for a hotel rather late and this was the only one around the area for under $100, we paid $78 and the quality was not great, We thought it must be due to spring break but the manager said some sort of convention, but who really knows. Seemed clean enough. NO bugs. Beds werent all that comfortable, but firmer than most. No breakfast, and did have free wi-fi. BEST PART OF THIS HOTEL IS IF YOU ARE GOING TO SHELL KEY OR ST. PETE'S BEACH YOU CAN JUMP ON THE CAUSEWAY FROM THIS HOTEL, IT IS RIGHT THERE!!! PERFEFT FOR US.

Room Tip: If you are going over to see shell key or St. Pete's Beach the causeway is right there, really c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skelley1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been staying here on our yearly trips to the St Petersburg area over the last 8 years. Never had an issue until now. The hotel has changed hands a couple times over the years but generally clean, quiet, close to shopping, close to the beach. This visit we only stayed one night. Initially upon going into the room found some fruit flies. My husband was woken up at 2 am by a 1 inch roach crawling up his leg. We found one more huge roach before checking out in the early morning hours. It will be last time we ever stay here. Advice: stay somewhere else.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed many times at the Bayway over the past four or five years and have found it to be adequate. Fixtures and furniture may be a bit outdated, but the bathrooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the mini fridge sufficient for our drinks and snacks. I stayed there a month ago, and what a disappointment. I was put on the 'ghetto' side (the North side) and the game definitely changed. The room was a wreck. No mini-fridge at all. A disgusting stain on the carpet. The door didn't shut / lock properly. I found roaches in the bathroom. The sink only had hot water. I did mention the roaches and lock to management. They did not seem very concerned. I am not sure I will give them my business again, although I will be returning to St. Pete next weekend. Other posters are correct, seems like some drug-dealing is going on, and generally a degenerate atmosphere. Too bad b/ c it is reasonable and until last month I found it adequate. If you do go make absolute sure you are on the Pool side of the building, in order to avoid that bad atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoisLane_S17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I think alot of drugs are being sold there and ghetto people hanging out all day kids running around hair weave everywhere got people standing around acting ghetto and looking you up and down like they never seen someone before I guess because we didn't look like a ghetto hot mess like they did cars with loud music playing you can't even hear the TV our rest its very ghetto and people smoking weed and that's sad because it can really be a great place its family owned and they have it looking nice to bad ghetto black folks who don't know how to act lives there

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelledax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Bärbel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
6.3 mi away
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
#18 of 43 in St. Petersburg
153 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,670 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#9 of 43 in St. Petersburg
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,417 reviews
1.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
#22 of 43 in St. Petersburg
617 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayway Inn

Address: 4400 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4549 (Formerly Knights Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayway Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing