We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I've stayed at a few places before in downtown St. Pete but haven't been overly impressed or I spent too much. This Courtyard will now be my go-to place. It's an old hotel that's been converted. the lobby and elevator have kept the old charm, but the rooms are a good size. Marriott added the cafe, so I was able to get food or drink as needed, and the valet parking was quick. It's also in a good location if you don't mind walking 5 minutes to the waterfront or Central Ave.

Helpful?
Thank WFSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I am glad to year that you have found us as your new hotel of choice in St Petersburg. Being located so close to all the restaurants and venues in downtown and our complimentary shuttle makes getting to everything simple. Looking foward to seeing you next trip.

K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    154
    58
    21
    10
See reviews for
87
128
26
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okeechobee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip. The hotel is very close to a popular area of St. Petersburg about 4 or 5 blocks from The Pier, Vinoy Park, a baseball field and many restaurants and shops. A couple blocks the other direction is a big lake that I jogged around - but trying to be "politically correct" I would say the city doesn't do as good a job taking care of it as the more trendy direction, so I wouldn't recommend walking that direction. The building is restored but clearly old and must have some history.. Once in my room, there was no telling that it wasn't a brand new Courtyard. The easy-button for parking is to pay the valet fee. There's some on-street parking in front of the hotel; it's got a 2-hour limit, until after 6pm after which you can leave it until 8am in the morning. Hotel staff informed me that St. Pete police will ticket the car - so it's got to be moved. Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpfull. I'd certainly consider this location on a return trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window facing the Pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
It is good to know you experienced several of the great amenities both at the hotel as well as the Downtown St Petersurg area. We enjoy being in such a vibrant area. We are glad that we were able to preserve this historic hotel and bring it to life.
K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant. Kudos especially to Zoey at the desk. Wonderful room, love the '20s style with the updated rooms. The Bistro was just the ticket for breakfast or an easy evening meal (I was never there for lunch). The shuttle was a great perk for dining out.

Room Tip: The building is older, so remember the rooms may have odd shapes, but the furniture was modern and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your great comments and especially recognizing Zoe. We are pleased to have such great associates on our team. I am glad you were able to experience our Bistro. Breakfast and dinner served daily!
Thanks and hope to see you on your next visit.
K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is a nice hotel in a convenient location. Walking distance to most everything and a free shuttle van is available from the hotel for anything in a three mile radius. The bistro offers an array of tasty, healthy enough food and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is one of the many historic buildings in St. Petersburg and they have done a nice job making it "signature Courtyard by Marriott" without losing all of the historic charm. Room was clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with others. We really enjoy being in the heart of St Petersburg. I am glad you found our staff to be helpful as well. We are glad you enjoyed our property and our lovely city!
K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Let me start by saying the location of this hotel is everything. You can walk to endless spots and if you don't want to walk, they have a shuttle that serves the nearby area. We stayed here during a Ray's game and the locale was perfect. That being said, the staff, although very nice, were completely disorganized and seemed very 'harried'. From the moment of check in, to the morning of check-out the personal we encountered seemed very 'flustered'. I would expect this on a 4th of July weekend or some other big event, but they were NOT booked. The hotel is very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. It was just very basic. We stayed with other friends and all agreed we weren't impressed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We very much enjoy being in the heart of St Petersburg with great access to all of the attractions, museums and restaurants. We particularly love it when the Rays are in town as we are so convenient to Tropicana Field. I apologize for the staff being a bit harried, On these near capacity days you should still experience the attention and service you would receive on any other day.
We hope you will choose the Courtyard Downtown St Petersburg when you return to our area.

K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is satisfactory. The things I liked about the hotel were: location, free transportation within a 3 mile radius, helpful employees/staff, nice cafe, clean rooms. Things I didn't like were: room air conditioner was noisy and kept us awake, pillows weren't very comfortable (though the beds were comfortable), continental breakfast would have been nice for the price we paid, valet parking was a bit steep at $12 a night.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for the friendly staff, clean rooms, and location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leecam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We are glad to see that our staff and complimentary shuttle helped you to enjoy your time in the St. Pete area. We like to hear when our guests had good experiences while using our amenities. Also with being a downtown property we do charge for our valet parking services, we are proud to say that we also have the lowest fee for our valet services in the area at $12/per night.

Courtyards have also transitioned over to the Bistro for our breakfast and Dinner options, this allows for our guest more freedom for their meal options. Being an A La Carte menu allows for your to order and purchase what you want and not have to pay for services that you may or may not use.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with our property, please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I was treated to a weekend in this hotel by friends from up north and was a little worried what to expect , turns out my concerns were eased as this hotel was great, we had a room on the 4th floor, the staff were all very nice the rooms very clean and had wifi a must for the kids these days,and beds comfortable , there is a small bistro that has a mini Starbucks and bar, both at prices you would expect from a location like this, I did not eat there as we went down four blocks to the 'moon under water' ( see review).
The hotel has a small indoor pool and work out room again both nicely maintained, in the lobby is a small area for those items you may have for got .it is located about four blocks from central ave,which is the main area for the night life , we walked but the hotel does offer a free shuttle to any where in a three mile radius , the can also jump on the down town looper trolley bus for 50cents per ride per person, we stayed on and enjoyed the drivers wealth of knowledge about the area .
The only really down side is parking, it is only street parking if you are lucky enough to find a spot, or you have to opt for the hotels valet parking at $12 a night
All in all great stay and would come back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your great comments regarding our hotel. It seems as though you experienced most of our amenities! We enjoy our location and being a part of downtown St Peterburg and so close to all the wonderful attractions and venues our city has to offer.
K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#12 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 42 in St. Petersburg
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown

Property: Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Address: 300 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Marriott Saint Petersburg
Courtyard Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Marriott
Saint Petersburg Courtyard
Courtyard St Petersburg Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing