We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, staff and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location, staff and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very nice historic hotel, in a great location! Checking in was quick and efficient. Our room was spacious and clean. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return next time we visit St. Pete. Thank you Marriott for another great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLife87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg for your recent visit to our area. It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay and I most certainly appreciate that you would choose us again! Thank you for sharing your experience.
K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    145
    57
    18
    10
See reviews for
82
125
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Pros
1) Good Location - quiet area but can walk to water front or the central area with restaurants and bars. Quick drive to the beach towns (20 mins)
2) Reasonable hotel for the price
3) Shuttle service was great. Friendly and available quickly to take you around town for free.
4) They were able to check us in well before check in time.

Cons
1) Lobby wasn't very welcoming. Felt more like a doctors office waiting room.
2) Elevator and common areas were visably dated, dingy and had an mild odor
3) Rooms weren't super clean and the AC made a lot of noise

Wildcard - We had a major issue with the first room we received . I would have ranked the hotel lower based on this, but the staff quickly put us in a much nicer king suite and comped us for that nights stay and our parking cost for both days. I have Platinum Elite status so that may have had something to do with this treatment but regardless, mistakes happen and I left feeling like they did the best they could to make it right.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg. I am happy to know that there were positives about your experience with us, but I apologize that it was not perfect. We have renovated out first floor, however looking to add some additional enhancements. We are looking forward to our rooms and corridors being renovated next year to continue our updates. I am pleased to hear that our staff handled your room transfer quickly and professionally. I do hope you will visit us again when your travels bring you to St Petersburg. I can be reached directly at the hotel to arrange future visits.
K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at this property 2 nights for a bowl game. Our bus was delayed so we did not arrive until almost 4am. The staff was very fast and efficient in getting our group into our rooms. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The king rooms are spacious and very clean. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your great comments about our staff and our property. I am pleased to know that you had a great stay and we certainly hope you will choose us again when your travels bring you to the St Petersburg area. We love having the bowl game here at Tropicana Field.
K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My wife and I extended a business trip to stay in the warmth of FL vs. the sub 0 conditions in MN so I used points to stay at this hotel. The location is Fantastic however I think Marriott could have done a better job with the remodel. The hall, 6th floor, has a funky smell - our room was fine.
I'm more about the room and it is great. The lobby area is interesting with unique marble, etc. My wife just pointed out that the headboard is "disgusting" dirty and greasy?? I didn't notice it. One maid was particularly loud in the morning - it sounded like she was standing right outside of our room talking, rather yelling on her cell phone. Starbucks in the lobby is a nice perk too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myronkjr1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg, Downtown. I am pleased that you found our location just right. We are happy with our lobby renovation and are looking forward to the next year when we will be renovating the guest rooms as well as the corridors, which will include enhanced lighting. I will certainly share your comments with our housekeeping department as we want to ensure a quiet and completely clean visit.
I am glad you liked the Starbucks!
We hope to see you on your next visit to St Petersburg.
K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Granted all the information on the Marriott website says that the hotel is old, I was still expecting better. In my head looking at the outside picture I was expecting historic and classic looking. This hotel is just plain old though.

The rooms were very spacious. Beds were not that comfortable. I was pretty confident the elevator was going to fall down the shaft it was so loud and crickety. We transferred to a different hotel after only night.

Perfectly normal nice average hotel, but it's not your clean slick modern hotel as some of the newer hotels. . .for obvious reasons.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing Marriott. We are disappointed that our hotel didn’t fit what you were looking for and you had to leave early. I double checked the hotel website and confirmed it does not say "old", however our historic listing lets us showcase the incredible history of our amazing city, that is one of the details making us unique from other ordinary hotels in the area.

Marriott took the hotel over in 2006 and completely renovated it, infusing everything modern about Marriott. We also just completed another renovation this past month adding more high-tech and high-style features that our guests are raving about it, I am sorry you didn’t feel the same.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed the spacious rooms, thank you for that compliment.
We know historic isn’t everyone’s style but we do appreciate you giving us a try. Thank you for choosing Marriott and we hope we get the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future, maybe next time on the new side.

-DOS, R. Tarrant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We and another couple in our party stayed at this hotel while celebrating Thanksgiving in St Petersburg. The rooms were spacious,extremely clean, and the beds comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful in every situation. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnulf1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay at during Thanksgiving, we are so happy we could be your home away from home during the holiday! Our cleanliness and staff are just a few of the many things that make our hotel so amazing, and for that, we are thankful. Have a wonderful holiday season and we hope to see you back at the Courtyard soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay for a St Petersburg experience. All Annemarie's are at you disposal. This hotel has historic significance and is really well restored. Rooms were great and staff did everything to help. Great transfer service to the Tropicana stadium for sports also.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkFAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Mark, what a great review, thank you. Being an historic hotel is amazing and infusing it iwth Marriott makes it unlike any hotels in the area. We just completed a renovation so you will need to come back and stay with us soon to check out the new Bistro, traveler ammenities, and modern additions. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay!

- DOS, R. Tarrant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown

Property: Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Address: 300 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Marriott Saint Petersburg
Courtyard Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Marriott
Saint Petersburg Courtyard
Courtyard St Petersburg Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing