We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel owned by Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Historic hotel owned by Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I travel to St Pete a few times a year and usually stay at this hotel due to the convenient location. It is a historic building with neat history now owned by Marriott. Rates are OK, not great. If you drive a car you will have to valet park which will add to the bill. Fitness room is OK. Rooms are always very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is typical for this type of hotel. Service is always friendly. They have a shuttle that will take you nearby... including the stadium where the Rays play baseball or the pier and restaurant area.

Helpful?
1 Thank The-Master-Planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg. It is always good to hear these comments. I wanted to share that we will be undergoing renovations to our lobby and restaurant and by the fall wil have dinner options available as well as breakfast. I hope you will be returning to see our changes.

K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    124
    51
    17
    7
See reviews for
69
114
23
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We've stayed at the Courtyard three times in the past two years. I love the historic charm, without the high dollar room rate. Having a fridge in the room is very convenient to keep water, wine and snacks chilled. Staff is very helpful and friendly, parking fee is reasonable and there's a free shuttle. I've considered paying more to stay closer to the waterfront, but always end up booking at the Courtyard and having no regrets with that decision. We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: Corner room have more space and light, but no blackout curtains on the side windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMItravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your comments with other travelers on Trip Advisor. I am glad you have enjoyed your stays when visiting us in St Petersburg. Thank you!
K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Friendly service, nice room, helpful staff, good food = great stay! Our family enjoyed looking at the old photographs displayed throughout the lobby area of the original Pennsylvania Hotel. We plan on returning.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank johnny778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg.
I am pleased that you found our hotel one that you would come back to. We look forward to your return.
K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed at this courtyard several times in the past year and have not been disappointed with any aspect. My understanding is This was the old Pennsylvania Hotel and Marriott renovated into a Courtyard. We have only stayed in the older rooms which appear to be over sized, very quiet, comfortable beds and spotless and we request these rooms.
The manager is the best we have encountered at any Marriott property, she takes the time to get to know her customers and always goes above and beyond to get you the exact room you request down to the room number. She has trained her staff to follow thru with the same commitment . Location may not be on the beach but we all know there is a trade off to be on the beach and we feel downtown St Pete with the beach drive area to have the best restaurants , museums , shops, pier and it does have a city beach. Highly recommend !

Room Tip: High floor corner rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our property and staff. Our goal is to provide the excellent guest service you would expect from Marriott. I will most certainly share your comments with our staff and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our second stay at this charming, historic hotel. We returned because of the friendly, personable service we received during our first visit. Once again, our room was exceptionally clean, attractively decorated with plenty of space. Breakfast was excellent!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Go1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
A great hot breakfast is the way to start the day at the Courtyard by Marriott. I am sure your third trip will be as good as your first two. Thanks for choosing the Courtyard.

K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have stayed in this renovated historic hotel many, many times over the past several years. From the very nice, clean rooms with refrigerator, comfortable beds, very pleasant and engaging customer service, an indoor pool that we enjoy with our daughter's family (who reside in the area), the famiily-friendly public areas and the very nice breakfast buffet that we all enjoy, it's always wonderful there in a convenient location in downtown St. Pete! It's consistently a good choice for us.

Room Tip: All rooms we've experienced have been great. When we've had the little ones stay with us, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay here in St Petersburg at the Courtyard by Marriott. I am happy we can be your home away from home when visiting your family.
We look forward to your next trip!

K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I came here for a 2 night stay in May. One night we were going to a show at Jannus Live(a local venue), and the second night we were going to celebrate "First Friday" (a monthly block party in downtown st. pete). Arrival experience was quick and painless. Mario was great with assisting me. Also, Monica was great. She brought me items in more than a timely manner and was just a sweet person. Room was great. Loved the natural light from all the windows. Even though they had a complimentary shuttle, we did not need to use it because Central Ave is a couple blocks walking distance which was VERY convenient. I love downtown st. pete and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleGar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I am glad to hear our staff was up to par. We are fortunate to be in such a convenient location to all the great things St Petersburg has to offer.
Come back soon!

K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.0 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#6 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#14 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown

Property: Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Address: 300 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2802
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Marriott Saint Petersburg
Courtyard Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Marriott
Saint Petersburg Courtyard
Courtyard St Petersburg Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing