We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient in St. Petersburg” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
525 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Convenient in St. Petersburg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Marriott Courtyard in downtown St. Petersburg, FL is conveniently located - walking distance to the waterfront and most attractions and restaurants.
It is an historic hotel (Pennsylvania) that has been modernized - so it is confortable.
It is also more reasonable than some of the other newer or fancier hotels in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg.
We are fortunate to be both historic and convenient. We appreciate you choosing our property.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    132
    52
    17
    8
See reviews for
74
118
23
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Comforter had a yellow stain, asked for a new one, which they delivered but did not put on bed or take stained one away.
Coffee in room did not have any condiments which was annoying.
Bathroom wall, baseboards, dirty.
Most annoying, there were not any mirrors in room. We had to take turns in bathroom to blow dry hair and put on makeup in steamed up bathroom. Doubled getting ready time with me, my daughter, and husband. No full length mirror either.
Would not stay here again. Many other options to choose from next time.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank capstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I am sorry that your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg was less than perfect. I understand we fell short on the cleanliness of your room during your recent stay and that should not be the case. Our inspection process should have ensured your room to be perfect and we let you down. I have shared your comments with our Housekeeping Manager and we will certainly continue our training with our staff to prevent problems such as yours in the future. I do understand the lack of mirrors outside the bathroom. I also would prefer that the full length mirror be somewhere other than the bathroom door. I hope that when we renovate our guest rooms sometime next year that will be addressed. Again, I apologize for your stay being disappointing.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here on a recent business trip as the Vinoy and Hilton were not available. The hotel is quite old and looks rather run down. The room while very large bordered on scary. However, reception and morning breakfast staff were amazing. Gym is very limited with only two treadmills, one sitdown bike, and some dumbbells - recommend the four mile running trail (ask reception for a map)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDO89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I would first like to thank you for your great comments about our staff. We are pleased to have a very attentive group of associates. I do, however apolpgize that our rooms fell short. While I am not sure what your specific dissatisfactions were, I do understand that some travelers, prefer newer built hotels.
Please feel free to contact me personally at the property if you would like to share your specific concerns. I am always willing to learn were we can improve. Thank you for staying at the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I just got back from a long weekend, (three nights) at the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown St Petersburg and it was a great stay. The staff really care about their guests, and go the extra mile to make sure you have a good time and are completely satisfied.
My best example, of many possible examples, was when I used the complimentary shuttle to attend a concert at the Mahaffey theater. With the Grand Prix in St Pete next weekend the area around the theater is very limited. The driver dropped me off with an assurance to be back to the spot to pick up after. Since the streets were redirected he couldn't make it in to pick up and actually parked behind a police car and walked up to the venue to find me and walked me and others back to the waiting van to get us back efficiently. He went way above what would have been expected. Thank you.
If considering a trip to this area in the future I will only stay at this location.
I stayed in the older section of the hotel and the wi-fi connection was strong and worked well.
The location is great, quiet neighborhood, very close to "The Looper" Trolley (bring your quarters).

Room Tip: I preferred the older section, but remember you might get a bit more 'neighbor noise' which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGoddess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay here at the Courtyard by Marriott in downtown St Petersburg. I am very pleased that our staff took such great care of you during your recent weekend stay. I am fortunate to have a great team here and would love to have you back in the future!
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice hotel, clean, very friendly service
The location was limited. They do provide transport within 3 miles for free, which is needed
I did walks--(short) to the pier and restaurants--- but I would not have been comfortable returning a night. Breakfast is available for a fee-- only till 9:30, mostly business people. If you sleep in, only have coffee in the lobby, or 8-10 min. walk for breakfast. Room was quiet and clean, pleasant experience

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanrgot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am happy to hear that our Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg Downtown was a good choice for you on your recent trip to the area. I am glad that our shuttle was of a benefit to you as a means to get around in the downtown area. I do apologize that our breakfast hours were not beneficial to you, and for future information we do extend those hours on Saturday and Sunday to 11:00 AM so that our guests who choose a more leisurly schedule will be able to take advantage of the Breakfast.
We hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is in part the old and restored Pennsylvania hotel from the 20s. The room I had was in the newest part of the hotel and had a one bedroom with a large living space. Very nice and I was really surprised when I opened the door for the first time. The location is about a 15 minute walk and it is quite pleasant walking to and from the water. I must have walked it 20 times as the conference I was attending was at the Marriott Vinoy. There is a great brew pub just up from the hotel at the intersection to the left when you come out the main door. Just off 4th Ave. Live entertainment there. I recommend the Florida Ale.
The walk along the water past the Vinoy s nice and the walkway leads to a tropical garden with some plant details on signs. Nice walk and also interesting.
Staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would glad,y return. Hope you enjoy St Petersburg!

Mike.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael182201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We will be happy to host you on your next trip to St. Petersburg! Thank you for comments regarding your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown St. Petersburg. We are very fortunate to be located in such a great city as St. Petersburg which has so much to offer. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

"Historic" hotel in downtown St. Pete but rooms were clean, updated and spacious. Free wifi - but the signal was a little sketchy - worked okay for email, etc but gave me a little trouble when I tried to watch a program on my ipad. Rooms were very quiet. Check in was quick, easy and friendly. Free shuttle to conference I was attending at the Vinoy down the street - seemed to always be there at the right time. Valet parking only for $12 per day - only downside was there was only one attendant so long wait times if you wanted your car at the same time as everyone else.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We appreciate our guests sharing their experience with other travelers and I am happy that we provided you with a great stay. As a side note, we have added a couple of additional access points for our internet signal as a way to increase the connectivity of the Internet service. Thank you for your comments!

Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#8 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.0 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#6 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downt...
#15 of 39 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown

Property: Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Address: 300 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2802
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Marriott Saint Petersburg
Courtyard Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Marriott
Saint Petersburg Courtyard
Courtyard St Petersburg Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing