We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff & Rooms with FREE 3 Mile Shuttle Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
531 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great Staff & Rooms with FREE 3 Mile Shuttle Service”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed 5 nights. Booked without research for first time to location. The first thing to mention is don't let the dark halls fool you after you check in. :) My room was just as current as any other Courtyard, as expected (Check my photos). That is one of the main reasons I continue to stay with Marriott. The second thing is the Staff were exceptional and very friendly and accommodating. Shout to to Candy the Bar tender who was pleasant and down to earth to speak with after a long day. Since I prefer to stay near the stairs, they stop on the 2nd floor, I was concerned when I looked out my window and there was 4th street. Amazingly, I slept very well for being so low to the ground. Within 10 minutes of walking there is what is know as "Central Ave" which is where I found that awesome greek restaurant. Every morning I walked to Starbucks, around Williams Park and the homeless, and back and never once wondered about safety. The locals kept telling me its not the "Best part of town" but I had no issues. Most cities I have travelled to, especially the larger ones, have homeless in the warmer climates. They have a FREE 3 mile shuttle, that will get you to the pier & water area also. Exercise equipment, pool area and jacuzzi all worked well. I would stay again and recommend. Thanks for reading. Video on Youtube channel.



Pros:

- FREE Shuttle Service

- hotel and grounds kept up well
- Jacuzzi & Exercise Room
- Sleep Quality



Cons:

- beds and furniture Much Older (But thats the point)



RetiredArmyRANGER


  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHDSM-Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and reivew of our Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg! We are very happy that we could provide you with a great 5 days while you were in town. Our shuttle is a great benefit and our staff is always ready to serve. We hope you will visit again when your travels bring you to St Petersburg.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    147
    58
    20
    10
See reviews for
85
125
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We had asked for rooms next to one another. That was provided in fortunately they weren't connected. Clean and very friendly at front desk. We skipped on breakfest and went 6 blocks down to the dome... Better food for the value then I we would have paid for breakfest in the hotel. But if you need late night snacks bring you own! It would have been nice if there was a few complimentary bottle waters in the fridge

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomonkeybutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg. I am pleased that you found our staff and shuttle service pleasant and helpful. We understand that there are many places in the area for food and beverage, and are glad that you enjoyed the Dome.
We hope that you visit us on future trips to St Petersburg!
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Discribed as Historic Hotel and it is. But don't expect beautiful period setting & furnishings - just think small & old. Efficient check in, old elevator, small rooms. All the usual amenities were fine - comfy bed, good hairdryer etc. but public areas were neither stylish, period, spacious or comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKSarahAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We thank you for staying at the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg, and certainly understand your comments regarding the lobby and public space. While we preserved much of the original elements when we re-opened the hotel in 2006 we appreciate that it may not please everyone. However, we are in the final design phase of our complete lobby and restaurant renovations which are scheduled for May of next year and are very excited about the new look.
I hope you will return to see our new look early summer.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clermont
Level Contributor
411 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard. It was close that we could walk to everything. And if you did not want to walk, there is a FREE shuttle that will take you to most places and then pick you up. We were impressed by the friendliness of the entire staff. The doorman are wonderful. Ask them about all the local eating places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whimisical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Marriott was wonderful. We were greeted by the Valet when we arrived. We then went to the counter to check in. The gentleman who check us in was delightful. Explain about the hotel, what to do while we were there. Explained there was a shuttle that would take us almost any where in the area. Room was clean and neat. Had a corner room with a beautiful view. For a old hotel it was very modern.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
1,182 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here when there was an over flow of guests at a relative's house. This is a historic hotel that has been renovated. Still has the original plaster walls and tiles in the lobby floor, but the rooms are updated and very comfortable. We were very happy with our stay and the staff who were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank librarian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safety harbor, florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Although I live in the Tampa Bay area, I stayed at this Marriott to attend a wedding in downtown St Pete. Its an old hotel from from the 1920's thats been updated. The lobby is really charming with lots of marble high ceilings. The room was comfortable, suprisingly roomy for an old hotel. Contrary to what other people said, walking to other parts of downtown was easy and very safe. Sure there are some homeless people around, but you have them in every city. I wasn't crazy about the breakfast, but a short walk landed us near a few choices for a a good, inexpensive breakfast. Overall, suprisingly pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueskyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the historic Courtyard by Marriott Downtown St. Petersburg. It is good to hear you found our hotel to be a good fit for you during the wedding festivities. St Petersburg has so much to offer and we are proud to be a part of this community!

Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.0 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown

Property: Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Address: 300 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Marriott Saint Petersburg
Courtyard Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Marriott
Saint Petersburg Courtyard
Courtyard St Petersburg Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing