We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in St Pete”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, FL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in St Pete”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a Friday night in July when we were participating in our forst triathlon at Fort Desoto. We were greeted by friendly staff at the frontdesk and warm cookies in the lobby (yummy!). When the staff found out we were doing a tri, they were very supportive and encouraging. Our room was bigger than I was expecting. The room had a mini-fridge and it was not full of bar stuff, so we could actually use the fridge. The only thing that was missing was an in-room safe. I don't usually use the provided bathroom products but tried out the lemon and sage body lotion. It smelled great and was very refreshing. The bed was comfortable, although neither of us slept well (nervous about our event).

The only parking option is valet, which was $12/night. I know this is typical of downtown area hotels so it didn't bother me, and at least it was only $12 (and not over $20 like larger cities). One of the valet workers actually told us we could park on the street for free, as there is usually plenty of parking available. We needed our car at 5am to head over to Fort Desoto and there was some guy walking outside that looked a little shady but otherwise, we felt safe.

Before checking out, we walked to a nearby restaurant (Pincho y Pincho.... great food). We did see some homeless people in the streets, but it wasn't a large amount and I did not feel unsafe.

Overall, we had a nice stay. The rooms were comfortable and we have no complaints. We got our price through a group discount and I though the price was fair. I would recommend this hotel and stay there again if I am ever back in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GatorNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive comments on your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg. We truly appreciate it! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope you will visit us again perhaps for your next Triathlon!
Run, Bike, Swim, GO!
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    154
    58
    21
    10
See reviews for
87
128
26
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

As stated in a previous review, this hotel is a restored property...there are still some remnants of the original hotel (30's) which add a little special touch to the place. Our room was very spacious.. looks like it used to be 2 rooms....and everything was clean, not shabby. The front desk and staff were all very friendly. There is a shuttle that can take you to locations within a 3 mile radius, which can be helpful. This hotel is simply a clean, comfortable place to stay...which is all we were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridagirl113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to meet all of your needs. We strive to provide friendly, informative service for all our guests. We hope to see you again as your travels bring you to St Petersburg.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This Courtyard is a restored historic hotel, and while that gives the hotel character, I would also describe it as a little run down. Like other Courtyards, breakfast was not free ($9.95 for the hot buffet), and unlike other Courtyards, the room did not have a pull out sofa. This hotel is several blocks from the main downtown area where all of the bars and restaurants are, and about a ten to fifteen minute walk to the Pier. There is a free shuttle to downtown areas, and the drivers were very friendly. If you are going for a Rays game, I would schedule the shuttle very early. The shuttle bus only carries 12, so you will probably have to wait quite a while as it gets very busy, as well as having a wait after the game. One night we drove our own car as the line for the shuttle was just too long and we didn't want to miss the beginning of the game. Valet parking is just a fact of life in downtown St. Pete, although street parking is available if you can find it. The rooms do have beautiful views.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EconMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott in St Petersburg. We appreciate your comments. While not all of our rooms have sleeper sofa's in them, we do have some with that configuration and we can certainly make resrvations for you with that room type on your next visit by requesting a king sofa room. We realize that there are times where the demand for our shuttle is extremely heavy, and do our best to accomodate everyone with this complimentary service, and try to minimize the wait as best as possible.
Thank you again for staying with us.

Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent a week here last month. Couldn't get a Marriott near St Pete Beach so settled on this downtown St Petersburg one. Overall the service was okay, housekeeping didn't keep up with our need for towels though, we had to take some from the side of the pool. For a family of 5 we need a lot of towels!!!
Location wise, I was not comfortable with at all. We set out to walk to the pier which was about 2 to 3 blocks away but after 1 block we decided to head back to the hotel and get our car. The amount of homeless people around the place really scared us and the kids, not an area I would recommend walking around in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eire99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We are glad that you chose to stay with the Marriott family when you were not able to find a Marriott on the beach and hope that you were able to spend some time visiting our local beaches. I do apologize that we did not keep up with your needs for towels as we should have. We are fortunate to be only 3-4 blocks from many of the restaurants and venues in the area but realize that at times this may also be inconvienent. I hope that you will visit us again and take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to the surrounding area attractions.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel twice now and have had nothing but positive experiences. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. I have another reservation for the end of the month and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We appreciate you sharing them with other travelers and with us! We look forward to your return later this month.

Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I decided to take in a Rays game for our Anniversary. Since we live about 4 hours away by car, I made hotel reservations to spend the night in St. Petersburg. However, my husband wanted to surprise me by having flowers waiting in our room. He managed to order flowers and chocolates and had the hotel staff have them waiting in our room when we arrived. And they never let the secret slip! I was completely surprised! He's not usually able to accomplish such a secret! Our room was clean, quiet and had a view of the bay. I actually enjoyed the valet parking-- no worrying about remembering where we parked and if we fed the meter. And Victoria, who was staffing the check-in about 8:30 pm, was extremely helpful with suggestions on restaurants that could deliver. Even going so far as to offer what she enjoyed from their menus. I love historic buildings-- the lobby was beautiful while the rooms were modern. The hotel is close to some wonderful shops. museums and The Pier. We'll definitely be staying again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor. Room was large, view was nice, and bath was clean. We were street side s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foundmyzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay at our hotel. I am particularly pleased with your regcognition of Victoria. We are fortunate to have her as a member of our team. We appreciate your choosing the Historic Courtyard St Petersburg!

Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

As loyal Marriott customers we were disappointed with this hotel. My family of three spent a weekend in St. Petersburg in order to attend two downtown festivals. First, the Courtyard is a little bit off the beaten path. Keeping in mind that St. Petersburg has a relatively small downtown with most of the action along Beach Drive, four city blocks off is about out of the action. Walking back to our hotel late that night, we found ourselves utterly alone once we were just two blocks off Beach Drive. The hotel is about a fifteen minute walk from Vinoy Park, Al Lang Stadium, The Pier and Demen’s Landing. Straub Park is slightly closer. Most guests would realistically need a shuttle or cab to get to Tropicana Field. The Marriott does provide a free shuttle to and around the downtown but the service schedule was a bit mysterious. Upon check-in we were told the shuttle was “by request”. However, we discovered guests waiting outside for the shuttle that afternoon and were told it does come on somewhat of a regular schedule. We finally did get on it only to discover the driver did not know the location of a major downtown (Demen’s Landing) park. We had to exit the van and walk the rest of the way. Another issue at this Courtyard is bedding. We were surprised to find not a sleeper couch (as advertised) but a sleeper “chair”; a single-seat chair with a little twin mattress pull-out underneath! Never in our travels have we seen one of those. Luckily our petite twelve year old was able to make do with it but any guest over 5'3" would be unhappy. Unfortunately getting bedding for that pull-out was a bigger ordeal. Arriving back at our room at 10:30pm, we discovered that we had no bedding for the twin mattress. It took us 30 minutes, two phone calls and finally a trip to the front desk by my husband to get a sheet and pillow. The lady at the desk blamed the fact that she was “by herself” and “very busy” for the delay. I’m not sure why a Marriott front desk would be single-staffed on a busy weekend night. Beyond that, we were disappointed by the hotel lounge (not open on weekends) and the no-self-park option ($12 per day to valet). Lastly, as Gold level members of Marriott’s loyalty program we were put off to not be offered any discounts or upgrades. For instance, this is the first time we’ve had to pay full price for breakfast. All in all, this was not the Marriott quality and hospitality we’re used to.

Room Tip: Be sure you have everything you need in your room as soon as you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScrapChickTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 41 in St. Petersburg
1,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 41 in St. Petersburg
1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 41 in St. Petersburg
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#4 of 41 in St. Petersburg
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown

Property: Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Address: 300 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Marriott Saint Petersburg
Courtyard Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Marriott
Saint Petersburg Courtyard
Courtyard St Petersburg Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing