We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average Italian”
Review of BellaBrava

BellaBrava
Ranked #12 of 898 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2nd Ave NE
Transit: Looper Trolley Stop 4, Museum of Fine Arts, Beach Dr
Description: Contemporary Italian fare with a New World interpretation. Extensive beer & wine selection. Outdoor seating on beautiful Beach Drive.
PA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very Average Italian”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Average Italian with nothing special or beyond. Ate there with my husband. Sat outside and it was very pleasant. Excellent service and very attentive waitress. Real Italian food is not drowned in tomato sauce. The Bolognese sauce was less than average and dissapointing. Way too much tomato and not enough meat and sauce. Also had lobster mac and cheese.... doctored up right from the box. Pretty dissapointing. Nice place for drinks and appetizers.... skip dinner. Very young crowd and very busy. Probably won't go back. Pretty expensive for 2.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler8147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlsand, Owner at BellaBrava, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I will not argue with you, since you have a right to your opinion, but I take objection to the implication that our lobster mac 'n cheese comes from a box. Really! That's what you think. You imply something in your review that you have absolutely no way of knowing unless you went into our kitchen and saw our team cooking the mac, cleaning the lobster meat (from Maine), creating the sauce, and then combining them. Don't say insulting things about a restaurant that you do not actually know to be true. That's unfair to our team who work very hard to satisfy our guests. Our food is prepared in-house, from as many ingredients as we can get locally. Our Lobster Mac 'n Cheese is repeatedly a favorite of our guests and of the people who come to local fundraisers where we often serve it. I welcome reviews, honest and fair and accurate ones. Yours was not accurate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    349
    116
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
“Italian food???”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'm 100% Italian and what this restaurant is trying to pass off as Italian food is an insult to Italians! Even the service was poor. The only thing that was nice is that we were able to sit outside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1nanny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlsand, Owner at BellaBrava, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your considered review of our restaurant. I am sorry that you felt that our food was not up to your Italian standards, but I would like to point out that we do not claim to be "authentic" Italian food. First, there are so many regional variations on Italian (real Italian, not Italian American), that being "authentic" could mean about anything. However, we do say we are a New World Trattoria, and that we take liberties with the foundation of Italian food we have eaten in Italy and make it appropriate for our guests, our ingredients, and the price point we try to keep to serve our guests. Everyone's taste is different, and everyone has a right to their opinion. I am sorry we disappointed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good place to eat indoors or out.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were vacationing and he chose this place. As usual we were skeptical being our first time and all... but actually everything was VERY GOOD! Zach was our server and he was very nice and polite. He was also very knowledgeable about the items on the menu. The best part of all was the price. Good food for VERY cheap :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickygirl46952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Food Fun Place”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

BellaBrava is a fun place to meet friends and enjoy dinner outside or indoors. I was part of a group of nine on a very busy Friday night. Luckily for us we had reservations and had a table inside. It was a happening place. Lots of people seemed to be enjoying their Friday night. If you have not visited St. Petersburg recently you will be surprised to see just how much fun you can have downtown. BellaBrava is one of those places. I had the Wood Grilled Chicken Picatta for dinner. The food was good. We will be back that’s for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cdela10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Tomato bisque was lovely. The caprese is great - best mozzarella ever. Sicilian pizza was really good too. One of our favorite lunch spots in st Pete

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireflyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BellaBrava also viewed

 

Been to BellaBrava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing