We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good food, lively, cheerful atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BellaBrava

BellaBrava
Ranked #12 of 887 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2nd Ave NE
Transit: Looper Trolley Stop 4, Museum of Fine Arts, Beach Dr
Description: Contemporary Italian fare with a New World interpretation. Extensive beer & wine selection. Outdoor seating on beautiful Beach Drive.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, lively, cheerful atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had one very good dinner at Bella Brava marred only by our own incessant business-related texts. My husband ordered the tuna appetizer and was only a third finished when his main course, seafood fra diavolo, arrived. Not the fault of the kitchen! Both were really fine. I had a chicken dish with mascarpone (?) and delish grilled asparagus. It came with a house salad that was excellent--fresh and nicely dressed. Service was very good. Lovely, cheerful waitress. Even though there was a large table of (after work?) guys right nearby the noise level was bearable. There are also outdoor tables. Shared a creme brulee for dessert. A lovely meal we'd like to repeat with fewer personal distractions.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    334
    108
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our second visit. It was a Friday night in season so it was busy. We had no reservation. We were told there would be a 45 minute wait and I don't think it took that long. Got a nice table outside next to a heater. The heaters are beautiful but basically useless as far as keeping you warm. The waitress was cheerful and pleasant. She didn't know the prices of the specials and when we asked what the spice was in the amazingly good soup (artichoke/parmesan) we had, she didn't know. Our meals were excellent. I had the veal parmesan and the wife had scallop/gnocchi special. Waitress was competent and attentive although she didn't know everything about the food and prices. Good choices on the wine list and good pours. Overall a great value and will return. After our check was delivered and signed, we sat and talked with our friends who also loved their meals. The restaurant was not close to closing but it was late enough that there was no longer a wait and some empty tables. We sat for about 45 minutes. I would have loved if someone had refilled my water or asked if we needed anything else. Would have given it an excellent if the service had been a little stronger.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraga, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This place makes one of the best pizza's we've ever had. Try the simplest one - sauce, homemade mozzarella, and basil. Meals are excellent and reasonably priced.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikestriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good service, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The food here is always great. And they have a grea wine list. You can sit inside or out - and the service is consistanly good. The prices are a little high - but you get hearty portiions for it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kellyspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
207 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“One of the best on Beach Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I go here often for date night. We love getting a sidewalk table but inside is great too. The menu has plenty to offer and better prices than the pretentious place across the street. Bella Brava is always busy which means others know how great this place is. My favorite is the chicken piccata. Skip dessert though and go to pachugo. See my review on it (its also ranked #1 in st. Pete).

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TMSTZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BellaBrava also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to BellaBrava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing