We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break In & Crack Heads” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budget Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Inn
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Break In & Crack Heads”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed for one night because it was late and we did not know the city , the next morning i find that my truck was broken into and part of our camping equipment was taken (propane stove $100 to replace) Asked if the management may have something on their security cameras and they just shook their heads and mumbled in Indian. No discount , no i`m sorry - nothing . Over the past 10 years of travelling around North America many hotels & motels have turned into real crap holes when taken over by east indian or pakastani families.

This place was very rough and many dirt bags came out of the woodwork the next day wandering around the street and parking lots.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dufferin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    13
    15
    26
See reviews for
8
25
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Having just returned from the US on a business trip my first port of call was my doctor who took photos and stated he had never seen anything so bad. This place is disgusting! Never stayed in a place so dirty. Sat up all night nearly and watched creepy crawlies everywhere in the room. Even lizards in the room!! The phone was even filthy. Toilet and bathroom a nightmare!! The other residents in this place look as though they wouldn't even notice! Drug dealing and prostitution rife!! Cleaning is not carried out on any scale. Management not inspecting. Sheets and bedspreads are the worst I've ever seen and I've been coming to the States for the last 20 years two to three times per annum.

Room Tip: To help travellers choose a good room - go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My boyfriend and i have stayed here at least once a week for the last 6 months and have always had a good stay. Contrary to reviews we read, the rooms are always exceptionally clean, its been safe and quiet. There is a nice pool and is conviently located near area beaches, downtown St. Pete, and Troicana Field. There are plenty of eating establishments in the immediate area. Management and staff are always friendly and courteous and tje rooms are reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awakened1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

OMG We stayed here after driving all night and I was so scared I couldn't sleep at all! It was SO dirty, the sheets had "something" all over them, and the kind of people that hang around the hotel were sketchy!!! DON"T STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

It looked like a good deal online, however the neighborhood is fairly sketchy. There is good lighting at night do I felt okay having my car parked outside.

The bed is a block of foam. The decor is very outdated. There was no overhead lighting in the room. The hot water in the shower did not work.

Despite all this, the guy behind the counter was very friendly and talkative. Overall, I felt that the hotel was not worth the price paid for it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WyvernWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

You won't find a better hotel for a better price. Clean, spacious rooms. And the staff is excellent! Close to tropicana field! Would rent over and over again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gimpey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is not a luxury hotel, but the location is good. The staff are helpful. Rooms were clean. A good choice if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn ST. Petersburg Central
Days Inn ST. Petersburg Central
#19 of 41 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#23 of 41 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
#31 of 41 in St. Petersburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#9 of 41 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#11 of 41 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#21 of 41 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Property: Budget Inn
Address: 800 34th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33713-6540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
50 clean rooms, each with a color T.V. w/ A.M./F.M. radio; 24 hour telephone service; free HBO & movie channels; daily room service and 24 hour management staff. Enjoy our sparkling, clean pool, & shuffleboard court at your convenience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel St. Petersburg
Budget Inn St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing