We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Will look elsewhere nextime” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in St. Petersburg
WI
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Will look elsewhere nextime”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The room had too many odors, maybe wet carpet or wet diaper. Didn't smell mold but had an Oder, maybe the AC? The carpet in the room was stained and needs replacing. Breakfast was the usual H Inn Exp. style. Location for business was ok. Staff at the front desk and breakfast area were friendly and helpful. I did notice that although the bathroom was clean, one of the workers must have had to pee and forgot to flush. All in all, it's a place o put your head, but the oder was just too much, not a second time for me.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank m t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear m t,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We believe that is with the help of our guests that we will be able to improve our services and facilities.

We are sorry that your stay in the hotel was not satisfactory and we hope that you reported the issues during your stay so we can follow up on what you mentioned.
Otherwise, please feel free to contact us if you would like to give us more details about your experience.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    55
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
49
42
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had moved over to this hotel from a more northern location so we could be closer to the coast. This certainly was a better choice, as we were at Clearwater Beach within 30 mins and we could get to Venice in just over an hour via the Skyway Bridge.
As always with Holiday Inns over in the US, the service was superb. Very helpful staff. Very friendly.
A definite recommend for reasonable priced hotel, although the breakfasts were not to my liking.... which was more to do with the American type of self serve... white bread and over processed food and a lack of fruit. Apart from that, which is more a personal choice rather than a hotel failing, we would use this hotel as a base again if required.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1961nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladyskravitz
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were in St. Pete for the Rock and Roll Marathon and looked for a hotel close to Tropicana Field. This hotel was perfect. It was about 8 minutes from the stadium. The room as relatively average; however, the customer service was great. We were offered water, given directions and a map to the beach, and provided with excellent restraunt recommendations. The breakfast was typical continental but decent with a number of options. One the morning of the race, the runners had to leave the hotel around 5AM. In the lobby they had set up good luck bags with fruit, granola bars and water. Nice touch. We were also offered a late checkout. We will definitely be here next year, along with our friends who stayed at other hotels. The only complaint were the thin walls -- we heard the people walking in the room above us quite a bit. All in all -- customer service was great!

Room Tip: We had a non-smoking King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gladyskravitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our experience was no where near as bad as what others have described. The room was moist and the bed was a bit lumpy, but overall it was fine - probably the worst element was the super-thin walls that had you hear everything everyone had to say. Not ideal when trying to sleep in after a later check-in and long drive on the day prior. The room was very moist smelling, but was large, clean and not moldy or offensive as others have described. And the staff were lovely. This is definitly not a 3 or 4 star hotel, but as a stop-over in St. Petersburg we found it more than adequate given the discounted price we got from an online site.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Jfk00,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Guest comments are the best tool we have to keep improving our services and product.

I'm sorry that you felt the rooms were moisty. We will look into that. On the other hand, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the service from our staff!

Best Regards,
Manuela O'Brien.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We took and impromptu trip to St. Petersburg, FL to see the sunken Gardens and the Gulf Coast. We were leaving the next morning and were looking for a nice, affordable place to stay near I-275. I have always been pleased with Holiday Inn Express but this one was so comfortable and clean. A great value for the money. Convenient to I 275, clean, spacious, beautiful rooms. Great continental breakfast which included Cinnabon. Love Holiday Inn Express!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We have staid twice at this well located, clean and comfortable hotel. The most recent one this past weekend (Dec 9, 2912). The rooms are clean, good size and comfortable. Offer all amenities expected from a decent hotel where the intention is to spend a few days. Their lobby is nice and their breakfast room is very convenient, clean and the breakfast a decent standard one. If you are lucky to find yourself being greeted by Craig, when checking in, you will feel at home! Their free Internet works perfectly and even their business center became handy and for free as well. If you are a Cracker Barrel fan, you have one right next to you (no need to drive). This hotel is strongly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

It is too bad ...this hotel has a great location and it is next door to a Cracker Barrel. The rooms are challenged by mustiness, cleaning odors, and old air conditioning. Our clothes got damp in the suitcases (?!)
The mattresses are old, soft, and lumpy. And the hotel is in need of a major renovation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpdowdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear cpdowdell,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the location of our property.

However, We’re sorry about the mustiness, cleaning odors and the old air conditioning. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#8 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway
Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast -...
#10 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#11 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#23 of 39 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Petersburg Northeast
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Peter...
#13 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275
Address: 2171 54th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33714-2078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Come and explore the beauty of St. Petersburg, FL here at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg, Home of Tampa Bay Rays! This newly refreshed property is conveniently located in a quite area off of I-275, and is only minutes away from Tropicana Field, Tampa International Airport (TPA), St. Pete-Clearwater Airport (PIE), Downtown Saint Pete. & other major attractions.During your stay experience & enjoy our excellent service, hot breakfast bar every morning, check your email at the business center, relax at the heated pool, or workout at the fitness center. Visit the Cracker Barrel, steps away from the hotel, or discover new cuisine at many other easily accessible Tampa Bay Restaurants. Attractions within 5 MI: Tropicana Field, Vinoy Golf Resort, Mahaffey Theater, The Coliseum, The Pier & Aquarium, Baywalk Mall, Sunken Garden, & Salvador Dali Museum. Within 30 MI: award winning beaches, Skyway Bridge, Busch Gardens, Ft. Desoto Park, & Raymond James Stadium.Business parks within 5 MI: Downtown St. Petersburg, Gateway Business Centre, Koger Center, and Carillon Business Center. Hospitals within 5 MI: All Children s Hospital, Bay Front Medical Center, St. Anthony s Hospital, Edward White Hospital, Northside Hospital, Bay Pines VA Medical Center, and St. Petersburg General Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St. Petersburg North i-275
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing