We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold, mold, and more mold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mold, mold, and more mold”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My friend and I went down to for a business trip, when we arrived we were told that we had been charged a no show fee for our reservation the night before, which was a mix up and we told them that we needed to stay the night of the 20th instead, our boss was paying for the room and sent down a credit card authorization for the night of the 20th, not the 19th. But she was charged anyways without authorization for her credit card, I asked to speak with the GM everyday before we left for business but we were always told he was not in. Once we finally got checked into our room it reeked of mold, when we went down to the desk and informed the staff they told us that they knew about the problem and said they would try and find us another room, after going into 5 other rooms we finally found one that didn't smell like mold. Now that we are home I am finding that I have $415.00 worth of charges on my credit card with an additional $415.00 hold even though it was only supposed to be charged for one night! I have been calling the hotel for a week now and I can not get the GM or the assistant GM to call me back! One of the worst experiences I have ever had with a Holiday Inn Express, I have always showed preference to this chain because it was known for its cleanliness and good service, IHG should be embarrassed to have this be one of their properties. We stayed for a total of 3 nights and every day there was a new problem that was always passed onto someone else. The other 2 nights were supposed to be charged to the other person's card, I hope she is having better luck than I am!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anotheropinion21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear anotheropinion21,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am truly disappointed to hear of the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    68
    27
    13
    12
See reviews for
57
47
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I guess it could be worse, but as I mentioned in my title, the smell of cigarettes was awful. In addition, at 2:30 AM I was awakened by the crying/sobbing of a woman and a very angry male yelling. I would not recommend this hotel, even at the reduced price of $55.00 secured through Priceline.com I can say it was fairly clean, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear KarenC2020,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent. I am so glad you liked the cleanliness of your room. Please accept my sincerest apology for the issues you had with the smell of the cigarette smoke. I am also sorry for the inconvenience you may have experienced due to the noise. I understand the discomfort this has caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersville
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a great 2 day stay in St. Petersburg, Fla. The staff was very polite and helpful with directions to local food places and shopping spots. The breakfast was the best we have had in a long time of hotel hopping. The beds were very clean and comfortable. All of our request were met with a positive attitude. The only problem we had dealt with the heater. We were a little cool so we turned on the heat to warm the room up a little. The heater probably had not been used since last winter so it began to put out a musty burnt smell. This caused the fire alarm to come on in the room. We called the front desk but they were not aware that the smoke alarm was ringing, well we were a little concerned about that. They sent the maintenance man who removed the smoke detector alarm and never returned to replace it, so we spent our remainer of the trip with NO SMOKE ALARM in our room. Everything was good except that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeldee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesburg, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for one night. We arrived late and we were out early the next morning. I slept good. Nothing to complain about. Staff was pleasant when we arrived. There is a Cracker Barrel right next door. This was for a business trip in the area. The hotel sits next to a highway, so there didnt seem to be very much in the area besides the restaurant.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FitzD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I went to see the RedSox play the Rays and since it was a night game we booked a night's stay at this hotel. They have a free shuttle to and from the ball park, but if you wanted to drive the field is only four exits away. The hotel staff is outstanding and their complimentary Smart Start breakfast is one of the best! This is one of our favorite Holiday Inn hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albp14t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean, but we had to ask for a sheet/pillow/blanket set for the pull-out bed. Great to have a full kitchen, but with no pots/pans/utensils, it was useless. The pool was nice. Breakfast is great with a LOT to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrlandoFLutterbyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in July after a 15 hour drive the staff was helpful and the room was very clean and bed was comfortable. Nice pool out back several places close by to get a good meal. Would stay here again if we ever in the area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1gulfstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#8 of 41 in St. Petersburg
761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#9 of 41 in St. Petersburg
210 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#28 of 41 in St. Petersburg
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Petersburg Northeast
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Peter...
#20 of 41 in St. Petersburg
316 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites St. Petersburg - Seminole Area
Holiday Inn Express & Suites St....
#10 of 41 in St. Petersburg
51 reviews
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275
Address: 2171 54th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Come and explore the beauty of St. Petersburg, FL here at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg, Home of Tampa Bay Rays! This newly refreshed property is conveniently located in a quite area off of I-275, and is only minutes away from Tropicana Field, Tampa International Airport (TPA), St. Pete-Clearwater Airport (PIE), Downtown Saint Pete. & other major attractions.During your stay experience & enjoy our excellent service, hot breakfast bar every morning, check your email at the business center, relax at the heated pool, or workout at the fitness center. Visit the Cracker Barrel, steps away from the hotel, or discover new cuisine at many other easily accessible Tampa Bay Restaurants. Attractions within 5 MI: Tropicana Field, Vinoy Golf Resort, Mahaffey Theater, The Coliseum, The Pier & Aquarium, Baywalk Mall, Sunken Garden, & Salvador Dali Museum. Within 30 MI: award winning beaches, Skyway Bridge, Busch Gardens, Ft. Desoto Park, & Raymond James Stadium.Business parks within 5 MI: Downtown St. Petersburg, Gateway Business Centre, Koger Center, and Carillon Business Center. Hospitals within 5 MI: All Children s Hospital, Bay Front Medical Center, St. Anthony s Hospital, Edward White Hospital, Northside Hospital, Bay Pines VA Medical Center, and St. Petersburg General Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St. Petersburg North i-275
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing