We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay if you are working in the area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay if you are working in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've stayed here probably 20+ times and found it to be consistently enjoyable. The front desk staff is efficient and friendly. The rooms are large, clean and well appointed. Equipment is all free to use in the business center. Gym is open 24 hours. Good food in the restaurant and the executive lounge offers a good breakfast buffet too.

The only drawback would be for leisure travellers this is not an ideal location to see St. Pete, but if you need to be near Carrillon Park, this is THE place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    234
    54
    20
    10
See reviews for
197
206
36
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at this property for 3 nights in January 2013. I was a little taken back at the location - in a business park and a confusing and wandering one at that, but the staff and accomodations were spot-on. My room had a balcony that overlooked the front of the hotel. You could see a spot of the the bay in the background - so the view wasn't scenic, but it was still nice to experience the FL weather with the fountains as background noise. Room service was OK, nothing remarkable, but not bad either. I did enjoy the 9th floor concierge for breakfast in the am, and one evening. Very nice selections for breakfast and evening snacks & staff was very accomodating when I needed a bottle opener for some non-macro beer selections. I'm looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craft_brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is about 10 miles north of the Dali Museum, but quite easy to get to. Clean, quiet, the public rooms and the guest rooms are what you would want in a Hilton. Staff is friendly, and our dinner of filet medallions were quite good, and a freshly prepared breakfast was more than adequate. Since we stayed on the "executive level," I guess I was expecting a more spacious room, but it was certainly large enough for an overnighter. The countertops are granite, and the bathroom sized is adequate. We had two beds, but if there were more than two people in the room, the room would probably shrink quite quickly. Our requested view over the lake was a good choice. There really is nothing to complain about at this hotel, I just expected from the reviews to be wowed, but instead, by reaction was "nice."

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SavannahLilianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a clean hotel with a very friendly staff. There is a restaruant I did not eat at BUT while at dinner one night a local person said it was a very good place to eat. There is an awesome place to run behind the hotel around a lake/pond. It is a great place to stay if you are visiting nearby businesses such as RayJay, TransAmerica, Franklin Templeton, HSN and so on

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShutUpandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks during Christmas and New Year, clean and beautiful hotel, lovely pool and hot tu, restaurant was not bad too, stuff were very friendly as well, especially this hotel was very quiet which I really preferred. There were free wi-fi in each room which was excellent. overall, great !

There is a lake outside the hotel, sometimes I can see a small alligator inside.

Btw, there is a supermarket very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mangocatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I recently stayed at this Hilton and was of course impressed with the classy lobby, beautiful restaurant with great food. The staff were generally very polite and attentive to everything. The room was "clean" and the housekeeping staff were very thorough. Several people have already commented on the desirability of a view of the lake - I would second those comments. HOWEVER - I found out that the CORNER ROOMS are very prone to cockroaches. I was there for two nights, three days. On my first night while working at the desk, a cockroach about the size of silver dollar was scurrying across the floor. Being the city boy I am - I jumped to high heaven. Eventually collected myself and smashed the little critter. When I called the front desk to complain, the response was quite flippant and it really annoyed me. "This is south Florida you know" was what he said. EXCUSE ME??? So because I'm in south Florida I'm supposed to be okay with a cockroach in my room? If I were by the pool - ok. In the lobby - maybe. Heck - even on my balcony...but in my room? On the 6th floor???

He did say I could change rooms if I'd like but I was pretty settled and he even said that every now and then one gets in from outside so I chalked it up to being an anomaly and stayed. Nothing else seen the rest of the night or the second the night.

But then...

The morning of my third day, as I was brushing my teeth right over the bathroom sink, what scurries out of the little drain hole right below my chin? You guessed it...another huge cockroach! After disposing quickly of this one I let the front desk person know and they laughed it off. I asked about some sort of compensation and they said "maybe" a free night or points. I said points would be great...and you know what...NOTHING. No follow up, no points, no nothing. So - while I will have to return to the area some time in May - I will be much more judicious in my room selection. Highest floor possible and NOT on the corner with a balcony.

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms as they are more prone to having critters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindyCityFinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
530 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 540 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Located in the business park district of Carillon Park, this property is somewhat of a hidden gem in the area, as it is somewhat "in the middle of nowhere". Located approximately 15 minutes away from Tampa Int'l airport, off I-275, this property is next to a lake and a small park/preservation area, which is surrounded by several business offices including Raymond James, Franklin Templeton, Smith&Nephew - just to name a few. It is not "close" to the beach area - located about midway between beaches and airport.

The property, although obviously not new, has been extremely well maintained over the years. Catering to the needs of the nearby business community, the hotel features a mix of standard and suite-like rooms. Although not a "long-term stay" hotel, the suites are relatively comfortable and have amenities such as a separate dining area.

The Executive Lounge, small in size, can get crowded with larger families during the week-end. the breakfast offering was excellent, offering a warm egg dish, warm meat (sausage/bacon), pastries, toasts, juices, cereals, oatmeal,... On the coffee side, the lounge was equipped with a Nespresso machine. Staff in the lounge was helpful and extremely friendly. One area of improvement though would be around what I considered to be safe food handling. With many people allergic to nuts/peanuts these days, I find it unacceptable that pastries that do not contain nuts, are puts in the same serving tray as items that do. There were nuts crumbling all over each pastry tray making it unsafe even for those with a "mild" allergy.

The room provided was clean and of a good size (I stayed in a suite). AC/Heat was a bit of an issue on day 2 as the heat did not kick-in. Other than that, everything was in working order. The room featured a nice balcony with a view of the lake and the actual Carillon. High Speed internet is complimentary and worked fine during our stay. We also had to use the sofabed during the stay which I found to be surprisingly comfortable (sofabed, especially hotel ones are know to be notoriously uncomfortable).

We did order room service during our stay. Room service staff was accommodating (eg: allowing for a late snack item to be ordered during regular business hours) and the price quite reasonable for hotel food. I would not say that this was great value however as the food taste was quite underwhelming. Portion size was acceptable for the price.

This hotel is extremely good value for the leisure traveller/family for week-end stays or holidays - as the hotel is virtually empty at those time (the focus being the weekday business traveller, going to a nearby office). Those that are members of the Hilton Honors point may even be able to score a premium room (like a suite) for less than what is usually required for a regular room!!!

Other than a walk around the lake (very nice boardwalk, with birds/marine life to be seen), there is very little to do for the leisure traveller near the hotel. There is one or two restaurant nearby, as well as one Publix market but this is about it. It is a fairly central and convenient base for somewhat who wants to visit the beach area, as well as enjoy the mainland activity, such as theme parks, zoos and downtown Tampa.

There is a nice heated pool on-site

I definitely would go back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ottwatrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
8.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
8.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
St. Petersburg Marriott Clearwater
St. Petersburg Marriott Clearwat...
#12 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#8 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park

Property: Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Address: 950 Lake Carillon Dr, St. Petersburg, FL 33716-1107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Carillon Nature Reserve, the Hilton St. Petersburg Carillon Park offers guests comfortable accommodations for your business or leisure stay. Unwind in our heated outdoor infinity pool or state-of-the-art fitness center. Our over 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space is ideal for your next business meeting, wedding, or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park Hotel St. Petersburg
Hilton St Petersburg
Hilton Hotel St Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing