We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to visit”

Boyd Hill Nature Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Boyd Hill Nature Preserve Bike Tour from St Petersburg
Ranked #17 of 126 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

A little nature in a big city....A great spot to visit tucked away.... You can also take your lunch with you and enjoy the peace and quiet. Also you get to learn about nature things that you did not know.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    70
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice walking trails”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took our son(12), daughter (9) and niece (6) here. It was a little rainy, but not bad. We saw an alligator, so that was cool. There were lots of birds and could see fish. We really enjoyed the trails around the marsh/water. We spent about 2-3 hours, but we didn't walk all trails. We didn't stay for the tram ride. The main office was nicely set up for kids, lots to see and feel. We are lunch at a picnic table out front and the kids enjoyed the playgrounds.

Helpful?
Thank DJB193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Daily tram tour with Ken a unique experience”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We recently took a tram tour of this 248 acre jewel in St Petersburg Fl.

Ken our tour guide was a wealth of knowledge and we learned so much about the history of this wonderful park.

We were lucky to see alligators, many species of birds , snakes and land tortoises.

The admission price is very reasonable and the educational center and gift shop will delight everyone in the family.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lyondown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was fortunate enough to experience the group camping here at Boyd Hill. It's rustic, but that's a big part of the charm. If you have a group, especially kids, and want to experience real Florida, check into the group camping or even just a day here. It's inexpensive and the staff is super friendly and really enjoys teaching young people about the plants and wildlife. If you're not from Florida, this is a great opportunity to see a gator in its natural habitat. There are also special events offered, including special summer camps for the kids, so be sure to ask.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderWomanFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just not much there”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is not in the greatest of areas in other words you wouldn't want to be here when it gets dark. Pretty simple and plain park there are much better ones. Sawgrass park lake Seminole park

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bugsymob2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boyd Hill Nature Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Boyd Hill Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing