We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Preserve via Sweetwater Kayaks”

Weedon Island Preserve
Ranked #12 of 127 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Weedon Island Preserve is an expansive 3,190-acre natural area located on Tampa Bay. This coastal system, comprised of aquatic and upland ecosystems, is home to numerous species of native plants and animals, an educational facility, and a rich cultural history. Indigenous peoples occupied this site for thousands of years. Today, the preserve protects this wide diversity of natural and cultural resources for current and future generations. The preserve encompasses 4.7 miles of natural and paved trails, boardwalks, and a 45ft. tall Observation Tower. Visitors may also experience the preserve by renting kayaks or canoes on-site and paddling a 4 mile loop trail. Weedon Island Preserve is a well-known birding site and is included in the Great Florida Birding and Wildlife Trail. Preserve Hours: Open daily, 7 a.m. to time posted (approximately 15 minutes before sunset). Daily closing time is posted at the entrance to the preserve. Weedon Island Preserve is closed on the day after Thanksgiving and Dec. 25. Center Hours: Open Thursday - Saturday 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Closed Sunday-Wednesday, Closed all County Holidays. No pets are permitted.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Preserve via Sweetwater Kayaks”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I rented a kayak through Sweetwater Kayaks and had 3 hours to go through the mangrove tunnels and bay. It was phenomenal!! Not only was the kayak very nice, their employee was also the owner and very helpful and kind. The trip was amazing. Mangrove Tunnels that were absolutely spectacular and then come out to a wider area of water and end with a row back to the starting point via the bay. Excellent!! Have never been to the preserve on foot, not sure I would after experiencing by kayak!! :) And, their employee was there at the end to help me out of the kayak, unlike many other local kayak companies. Highly highly recommend Sweetwater Kayaks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DLFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    113
    23
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An isolated gem right in between Tampa and St. Pete on Gandy”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This preserve is an isolated treasure. It is accessed off of Gandy Blvd. between Tampa and St. Pete (closer to St. Pete). It has a nature center, hiking, cycline, kayaking, canoeing. If you don't own equipment, there is a vendor there who rents canoes and kayaks. It is beautiful and peaceful and makes you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, when you are 5 minutes from a bustling metropolis.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Definitely got our money's worth at Weedon Island”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, I knew we needed to check out this place on a recent visit to St. Petersburg. It was a wonderful place to go for a nature walk, especially with the family (we brought our kids, ages 9 and 13).

There were few other people there. We traveled on paved and elevated wooden walkways, eventually leading out to the water, where we saw a couple of kayakers and a fisherman.

Of particular interest were the many, many tree crabs we saw in virtually every bush and tree on the walk. The fish jumping out of the water were fascinating as well. For my family--Cub and Girl Scouts--this was the perfect activity for a morning and it was a great chance to see how the natural environment of Florida differs from that where we live in Maryland.

And the price -- free! Can't beat that!

Please remember to wear comfortable walking shoes -- I underestimated how much we would be walking, and ended up with two nasty blisters on my heels, NOT what you want just before a visit to Disney World (ouch!). So wear shoes that are ready to HIKE.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarahste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“paved trails and little black crabs in the trees”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We took a walk with our two young children (ages 9 and 13) at Weedon Island Preservein early August 2012. The trail is short, flat, and well-marked, and entirely appropriate for children. The trail we walked was paved and elevated in the places where it wound through the marshy areas. The vegetation was an interesting (to me, a Michigan native) mix of mangrove, oak, and tropical grasses. Trails lead out to the water, where we saw fish jumping and a fisherman working there with a large net. The most novel sighting for us were the tiny black crabs we spotted in the vegetation along the trail.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thewagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sandbar”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Weedon Island has a sandbar you get to by boat or watercraft that is the perfect hangout for friends or families.
We took our own boat out there and moored up with about 100 other boats and just a great place to spend the day and chill in the water. Bring your own music and your lunch!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weedon Island Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Weedon Island Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing