We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see and taste!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mazzaro's Italian Market

Mazzaro's Italian Market
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Monroe, GA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must see and taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Best meatball sub and hot Italian subs I've ever had. Great selection of deli items and other Italian specialties to buy. It's a must-visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLover1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,382
    294
    42
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Get there early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Many prepared dishes but get there early for best selection. I think the chicken parmesian is a good value. I love the antipasto salad. The deserts are to die for-my favorites are cannolli cake, tiramisu cake and strawberry napolean. Freshly baked breads vary from day to day-Friday is marble rye-my husbands favorite. If you appreciate fine cheese-this is a must visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tpalvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
443 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“A Taste of Italy just around the corner .....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you're looking for a taste of Italy, but don't want to spend the money to fly there ... have no fear, your taste-buds can be satisfied at Mazzaro's. Sip a cup of espresso, and enjoy fresh pastries. Looking for wine & cheese ... so many choices, so little time. What about lunch ..... choose from the deli, a scrumptious sandwich, loaded, with your choice of meats & cheese, etc. We purchased two "Muffuletta" sandwiches @ $5 each. We split the first one and were too full to eat the second. It was just as good later, for dinner. The bakery has a nice selection of breads, cookies, etc., and don't forget the gelato (Italian ice cream). It's a must see, even to just walk through the building. One other important point ... everything is quite affordable, and the people working there are friendly & helpful. Ciao!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FLworldwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria de Dota, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“St. Pete's Little Italy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Mazzaro's is St. Pete's gem. There is nothing else like it for miles and miles, and people travel from all over to come here. Lots of imported wines, greater variety of cheese than you knew existed. Great sandwiches. Try the Cannoli Cake slice -- it's to die for. Sitting on the back patio creates just the vibe to make you think you could actually be in a cafe in Rome. Great date location (if you can handle crowds).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kipnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hair in 2 different food items on 2 different days”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had hair raising experiences during my visits this April. 1 hair in my food I can excuse. 2 pieces of hair in 2 days, (2 different items) - this is a problem. I was disgusted to bite into a raspberry thumbprint cookie and encounter a hair baked into the raspberry jelly center. I gave Mazzaro's another chance a few days later. Guess what, my gelato had a hair mixed within it! Both items are made/sold on the bakery side of the operation so I hope the bakery manager is taking heed. All of our hot food items and sandwiches were very good as always.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazzaro's Italian Market also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Mazzaro's Italian Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing