We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Italy feel in St. Pete”

Mazzaro's Italian Market
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $5
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Italy feel in St. Pete”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

As you walk through the doors of Mazzaro you are literally sweept up into the streets of Rome. Everytime I miss Italy I go there for a bittersweet reminder. Things to try-Gelato is AWESOME! The Bakery has the most DELICOUS Tiramiso and Coconut Cream Pie. Prepared foods are good. the wine room is divine.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuleika75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,851
    380
    57
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
169 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The most amazing selection of all things Italian!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

When my friend insisted we stop at her favorite Italian deli in Florida I thought she must have sunstroke. I mean come on, we're from Chicago and what could beat Taylor Street? After our visit it's clear that Mazzaro's is in a category of it's own! I never even saw a shop with this huge of a selection in Italy!
You enter into the butcher shop and the next room is wine/cheese and where I found an excellent pecorino with peppercorns which I can't seem to find here at home. The largest section of this massive store is the deli/grocery section, with people 3 deep ordering sandwiches. Surprisingly it only took about 15 minutes for our sandwich to be ready and 3 of us split the sandwich which was very good. There's a lively covered patio where you can enjoy your meal and then it's back inside to explore. Handmade pizzas to bake at home and homemade pastas and sauces are just a few things available. I swear I gained a pound just walking past the pastries and managed to ignore that cannoli cake that was calling out to me. You could wander here for hours and still not see everything they have to offer. A definite stop next visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JustLale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“An experience you will remember forever”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This Italian Emporium is located in an unlikely industrial location. We got there about 2PM on a Wednesday afternoon. The very large parking lot was full. We had to cruise up and down rows of cars looking for a space. The main entrance is off the main road in the back of the place.

Inside you will find a lively, crowded Italian store. Wine, cheese, expresso, panini, sandwiches, flatbread, anitpasto, salads, cold cuts, entrees, kitchen implements, pasta, pasta, pasta, olive oil, spices, breads, baked goods, meat, fish, fruits, vegetables.

Take a number, order your food, wait 10-15 minutes, explore, listen for your number, pick up your order, take it outside to the noisy patio, pay at the register, find an empty table and sit down to the best Italian in North America. It will be an experience that you will remember forever.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hankski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow, I even bought the t-shirt!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a must see in St. Petersburg, FL.

It included not only the best and most complete selection of Italian & European foods I have seen outside of Europe, but also an inexpensive and excellent deli & coffee bar!

Wow... loved it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“can I hide in the back when they close?”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I want to stay there for a few days. That way I can experience everything I want to in this fabulous place. I think they should open up some rooms! I could have breakfast, lunch and dinner and then go shopping for food to take home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NANCY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazzaro's Italian Market also viewed

 

Been to Mazzaro's Italian Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing