We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Indian Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway to India

Gateway to India
Ranked #111 of 892 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The best Indian food I have had in quite awhile. Service was at times a bit awkward, but don't let that stop you from going. Excellent

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidBMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    39
    12
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We had the lunch buffet here and it was delicious. Food presentation and variety were superb. Veg and non veg were available along with basmati and a fried rice. Staff were attentive with drink refills and naan. I visit India quite a bit and this place is genuinely good. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank joebo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Indian is hard to find! They did it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to Indian food. The waitress was super helpful with recommendations when we told her our likes and dislikes. We were both super pleased with our dishes. Enough for some yummy leftovers to look forward to. Garlic naan was tasty and soft.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CPA316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in St. Pete”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I was so happy to have Gateway to India open near me. The food is very fresh, I have dined in, take out and had their buffet. They are very consistent. Food is excellent and they will make the food as spicy or mild as you request. Our mild dish on this occasion was too spicy and it was promptly corrected. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liljns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesomeness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We took our friends and family from Cleveland. They were surprised by how good it tasted. The lunch buffet is the best deal around. Nice servers that serve northern indian style cuisine. The other indian places are overpriced and do not offer a lunch buffet.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wsmith7019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway to India also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Gateway to India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing