We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
St. Petersburg

“Just like the real thing!”
Review of Jacks London Grill

Jacks London Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Small family run British restaurant with good quality home made meals. Specializing in Fish n' chips and other British classics.
Reviewed September 23, 2019

We chose this place randomly for an after-movie dinner the day Downton Abbey opened. It exceeded expectations! I lived in London for 5 years, one of the people in the group was English, so we had strong ideas about good English food. The fish and chips were perfect, the Irish Stew was to die for and the bread pudding? No words! The owner came to our table and made sure we were pleased with the meal. He explained that everything, down to the cole slaw was all freshly made there, even the crusts to the steak and kidney pie. We will definitely return and we strongly recommend it to everyone else! Pub grub in St. Pete!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrews2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Chief pie crust tester. at Jacks London Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2019

Downton abbey is such a great movie, thank you for thinking about Jacks to help keep your British themed day going.
We appreciate your comments and are really happy that you enjoyed your visit.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 647 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2019

This was our first visit and the six of us all ordered something different. Everyone loved their food. Fish and chips looked excellent and was a huge portion. The fish pie had large chunks of fish as well as shrimp and a flaky crust. Need to go back to eat our way through the menu. Bread pudding for dessert was big enough for two to share and delicious. Came home with Scotch eggs and sausage rolls for later.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daphnestephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U9823EGpeterl, Owner at Jacks London Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for the review, recently added sticky toffee pudding to the special desserts
"Especially for you", ha ha!
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2019

The wife and I just finished dinner at Jack's London Grill. I had the corned beef and cabbage, extremely large portion, and excellent taste. The wife had the fish and chips, better than any that we had in London. Great food, great prices, great service. A must try for foodies!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Bonhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Corned beef briner. at Jacks London Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments, we're really happy that you enjoyed our house cured corned beef and freshly beer battered haddock.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019

If you want great British food, this is the place. If you want healthy food, this is not the place. The fish and chips were crisp and delicious. The corned beef special could have been warmer.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U9823EGpeterl, Owner at Jacks London Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. We always enjoy hearing from our guests and very much appreciate their comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

First time going to Jack’s and can’t wait to go back. Four of us went each ordering a different entree and each entree was delicious! Loved the quaint pub atmosphere too! Highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Cathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Chief IPA buyer at Jacks London Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

Thanks Cathy.
We appreciate your comments.
Lookingforward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacks London Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jacks London Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing