We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Decent local seafood place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fourth Street Shrimp Store

Fourth Street Shrimp Store
Ranked #24 of 872 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
262 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Decent local seafood place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Food is good, staff is good, price is a bit inflated. Go for the specials (like Tues. all you can eat crab) for the best values. Kids meal is one of the best you will find anywhere, bar none

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank llstom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    145
    50
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brecksville,Oh
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Happy Hour & More”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited before a baseball game and only needed a bit to eat. The happy hour 2 for 1 was more than enough. We enjoyed the smoked fish and 1/2 pound shrimp. This place is a winner. It was crowded so keep that in mind.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KieranR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, fun place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've been going to 4th St. for over a decade and have enjoyed every meal I've ever had there. The fish sandwiches are the best! They're fresh and and served just the way you want them. Try broiled with a toasted bun, mmmm. This last visit was the first time I had the clam chowder, I can't believe I've been missing that stuff for all these years! GREAT soup!

The restaurant has a quaint decor that's nice, too. Enough to look at while you wait just a few minutes for your food to arrive.

I'll be back again and again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, quick and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We came to the Fourth Street Shrimp Store at 9pm on a weeknight, not realizing they close at 9:30. However, the hostess and server never made us feel like we needed to hurry and get out of their way (even though we inadvertently seated ourselves right next to the table where all of the other servers who were done for the night were doing their preps for the next day!) Our server, who was friendly and attentive, even asked us if we wanted more drinks after we finished our meal, even though we could see chairs being stacked across the room.

As for the food, the smoked fish spread was amazing, and was our favorite item of the night. Hubby ordered shrimp scampi and I got u-peel-em style shrimp...both were fresh and tasty. I would have preferred some seafood seasoning on my steamed shrimp (I'm partial to Old Bay), but they didn't seem to have any type of spicing. Cocktail sauce added the needed kick.

The decor is simple and meals are served on paper products, but if you are looking for fresh seafood in a casual atmosphere, this place fits the bill.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ErikaS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best seafood I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to Florida for years and have stopped at MANY different restaurants... Every single year we would go to a different restaurant every night. 4th street is by far the best. The food is more than fresh and the prices are very low for the great quality of the food. Not to mention, helpful servings. Definately worth the stop!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Njb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fourth Street Shrimp Store also viewed

 

Been to Fourth Street Shrimp Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing