We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“always reliable for fresh seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fourth Street Shrimp Store

Fourth Street Shrimp Store
Ranked #23 of 886 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“always reliable for fresh seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just had lunch there and enjoyed raw oysters and a Po Boy, my friend had a fish sandwich and it was all delicious and fresh. We always eat there when we visit St Pete, highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank malena7033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    150
    51
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Value Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We met good friends here. We all enjoyed Grouper, shrimp, and scallops. The side of Red Beans & Rice was an exceptionally good side too. Our server, Austin, was helpful and attentive. The ambiance was good and the place was busy on Saturday night but we got seated right away at 5:30. The Blackened Grouper was great. We all concluded that we would return again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guyr777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have gone many times. The atmosphere is relaxing and the food is good. The Clam Chowder is the best thing here. It is amazing. Seating both in and out of the restraunt is comfortable.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good fried seafood place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The food is what it is - lots of fried stuff with no mistakes in the execution- excellent fish spread some of the best I've had. Great friendly service. Most the the fish species and the crab are not native to Florida - so, no surprises there. I'd go back when I was in the mood for a fried meal. Beyond that, not exceptional for a stand alone - concept restaurant.

BTW _Tripadvisor is a poor resource for foodies because it is almost impossible to post reviews for new or undiscovered restaurants unless they have a web site. For this reason, I have stopped trying to post reviews for new restaurants and will continue to add my 2 cents worth to the already established places.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cuisine_screener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
1,182 reviews
956 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Another good visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is not a fancy place but when I am longing for fried clams, this is where I go. I always loved HowardnJohnsons fried clams and miss that chain's demise. But Fourth Street Shrimp Store is a good substitute. They fry them with a light, tasty batter. We enjoyed our meals including truly good husg puppies - probably the best I have tasted. Good food and good service - what else do you want?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank librarian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fourth Street Shrimp Store also viewed

 

Been to Fourth Street Shrimp Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing