We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like an old friend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chattaway

Chattaway
Ranked #78 of 893 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
463 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Like an old friend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I went to Chattaway's for lunch after giving a morning genealogy tour of St. Petersburg, FL and vicinity. There are many memories of old St. Petersburg in this place; you can almost feel the friendly ghosts stirring. The atmosphere is as everyone else has described. Believe it or not, I'm vegetarian, but Chattaway's does have a veggie burger too nowadays. It wasn't the best veggie burger I've ever had, but it was fine. A great place to visit, not far from all the historic neighborhoods and buildings of old St. Pete.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank garbagecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    81
    19
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Red Hat Luncheon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have at least 1 to 2 lunches @ Chattaway in St Pete a year. We have Teas & menu at the restaurant. THE OWNER IS AN ABSOLUTE CHARM. Our Group of Red Hatters will be going back this July 2013.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Helpful tips for Chattaways”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here multiple times and I have always enjoyed it. The food is pretty good (especially the burgers) and the atmosphere is like you are sitting outside at your crazy uncles place who never throws out any of his old yard decorations - it's kitschy cool
Be aware that it can get pretty busy even for a weekday lunch.
Also the don't take credit cards do bring cash.
Prices are about average for a sit down Burger joint

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thehelpfuldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
263 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good burger place, but be careful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place is a typical dive, but the burgers are excellent. However, watch out. The bill adds up quick. To top it off, they don't take debit/credit. Cash only. We were there for a birthday celebration and the bill came to almost $100 (at a burger joint-go figure)-had to send someone to the store for money to pay it off

Helpful?
Thank llstom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun and funky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Live music, outdoor eating, crazy bathtub gardens, cool staff and great onion rings...this place is unique! Fun for big groups and small.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hankieladie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chattaway also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Chattaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing