We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Mexican in Town”

Carmelita's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #120 of 898 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best Mexican in Town”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Try the Tres Banderas. Plenty of tasty food with all the satisfying flavors. I would go more often if it would open a restaurant in downtown St. Pete. Hint hint.

Helpful?
Thank SoGood33701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    55
    28
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, FL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great salsa and chips”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

hahaha, The food is great here. But seriously good salsa and chips, too. Bartenders are awesome, and the selection of Mexican food is perfect.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DineReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great meeting place”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Met friends after a day of shopping as this is our usual meeting place. Chips and salsa along with the white cheese queso dip is awesome!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Favorite place for Mexican”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I love to go to Carmelitas. The food is consistently good and the restaurant is always clean.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MistressReagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You MUST try the hot salsa and red sangria!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The best Sangria and salsa in town! I'd bring a tub home with me but it's preservative-free. Made fresh daily and HOT! Well, you have to specifically ask for the hot salsa or else they will only bring you the mild. Only thing missing at this location is some outdoor seating.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BooBooKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmelita's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Carmelita's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing