We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - Soooooooooooo GOOD”
Review of Engine No. 9

Engine No. 9
Ranked #24 of 904 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Local burger restaurant. Large bar, beer and wine only. Won best burger Tampa bay 2013
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“OMG - Soooooooooooo GOOD”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Perhaps the best burger of my life!

Full bar with a great beer and wine selection.

I would give it five stars but, the noise level was almost intolerable. They could really use some area rugs or something on the walls to absorb sound and lessen the hard surfaces. Our group had to scream at each other across the table.

Be prepared to wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoWhat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    91
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
132 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“GREATEST BURGERS IN TOWN!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The staff at our hotel told us about this place on our January visit to St. Pete.... it was awesome! We purposely had friends meet us there when we returned to Florida in February... they were knocked out too. You won't be disappointed if you can find it....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelerDan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great staff and great burgers!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon Engine No. 9 to have a beer and watch the Blackhawks game. After enjoying some Goose Islands and watching the game, I went through the menu and had to try one of these delicious looking burgers. It was amazing! Since then, I have gone back for several more burgers! Each burger has been cooked to the perfect temperature and so delicious. The fries are amazing too. Make sure to get the fried pickles also. Staff is awesome and you can always watch the Blackhawks here! A must stop in St. Petersburg. You will not leave here hungry and I guarantee you will go back to try a different burger next time!

Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Burger on the Planet!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We are visiting our daughter in St. Petersburg. Since we live on the East Coast of Florida we decided to try something different and not fish. The specialty at Engine 9 are hamburgers and these are the best and the most different that I have every tasted. The flavors and combinations are too many to mention. You will mot be disappointed. The only have a few booths and table tops so you may have to wait but it is well worth it. Delicious food , great service and beautifully presented.

Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Burgers!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The burgers were huge and there was a lot of different choices, some very unusual. My friend had a burger made of giant shrimp and said it was great. My tex mex burger was awesome. We all had different burgers and no one was disappointed. The sweet potato fries were cooked perfectly, really yummy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sands5596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Engine No. 9 also viewed

 

Been to Engine No. 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing