We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

American Stage Theatre Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Lean forward. We have a story to tell. Since 1978 American Stage has been dedicated to telling meaningful, compelling stories with integrity and professionalism. As the Tampa Bay area's longest-running, most critically-acclaimed professional theatre company, we seek to bring the power of quality live theatre to each generation in our community. As we move into our next exciting era, American Stage is committed to being a vital arts leader and contributing to the cultural landscape of the Tampa Bay region as we pursue innovative programming and deeper connections with our patrons and community partners. Because we believe that live theatre can connect us to our world and to one another, we aspire to make the experience of world-class theatre accessible to all. American Stage invites you to lean forward and experience the most captivating stories of the moment and the most relevant stories of the past. All told with passion and a commitment to excellence.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Valrico, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I went to see Steel Magnolias here and had a very nice experience. Theater is small, but had nice overall atmosphere. Staffers were very pleasant,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    32
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Sunscreen Film Festival venue”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wonderful venue for our film festival! Great screens and a great green room! Most of the films screened there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeeRo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quaint Venue”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Pleasantly Surprised by the Play we saw. Seats were front row yet not too close. It's a small theatre venue very quaint and well organized. Lovely intermissions and good acting in the plays!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wonderful small theater”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This theater in the heart of Saint Petersburg is small, which offers an intimate experience since every seat is so close to the stage. There is not one bad seat in the theater and prices are very reasonable.

The performances are very well done and often follow the work of a single playwright for a period of time, such as August Wilson

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnTampaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A theater for all”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nice modern building (though I do love the old theaters too) Located in downtown St Petersburg. Fantastic season selections every spring/fall. The theater is located on the second level with stair & elevator access. The bar/snack area is a little soulless & the staff/volunteers leave a lot to be desired in this area. However...do not let this dissuade you from visiting. The theater itself is small & intimate..sitting here you feel very much a part of the performance..sort of immersion theater..I love this! This particular theater also has an excellent education program from drama/playwriting/costume design/set design to production/lighting etc. My son attended during his sophomore/junior high school summer break..he loved it & I saw some wonderful performances by some talented students. Watch their website for upcoming plays & deals. They offer lots of levels of purchasing from single tickets to 'flex passes' to full seasonal passes. Close to loads of restaurants for before/after performances.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Stage Theatre Company also viewed

 

Been to American Stage Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing