We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly & Tasty”

Mid Peninsula Seafood
Ranked #49 of 908 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Proud to be family owned and operated since 1978! Mid Peninsula Seafood is a one stop complete seafood market and restaurant. We have two fresh fish showcases brimming with at least seven different species of fresh finfish, several sizes of shrimp, along with a wide selection of shellfish and other seafood specialties. You can purchase fresh seafood of your choice from our friendly staff, and either bring it home to your own kitchen, or let us cook it for you - by the piece, by the pound, or check out our menu.We are dedicated to providing the freshest selection of both wild caught and sustainable farm-raised seafood, along with home made accompaniments such as soup from scratch, various salads, and of course our homemade desserts. All brought to you with a side of friendly service and personal attention.Stop by or call today, and check out what's fresh!
Gulfport, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly & Tasty”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This place is pretty much a "locals hangout" with a smiling, friendly staff. You order & pay at the counter, grab a table & they bring your food when it's ready, which usually doesn't take very long. Dining room area is clean with plenty of space between tables & on weekends the live entertainment is really enjoyable. Food is well prepared...not real fancy but very tasty. The seafood gumbo actually reminded us of Maryland Crab soup with some shrimp & scallops added (very good !). Recommend almost any of the fish choices & suggest either blackened or fried. Also the coleslaw & french fries are pretty good & the conch salad (if available) is topnotch. We've been there a few times already & plan to go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuencathom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    36
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
1 review
“Fresh???”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I'm surprised to see so many reviews describing the fish as fresh, or "fresh from the Gulf". It is not, I asked and was told the fish are frozen, not fresh. But it is well prepared.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanelle, Owner at Mid Peninsula Seafood, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Patricia F, thanks very much for your review. So glad you enjoyed the preparation. Just wanted to clear up the "fresh" issue. Some of our seafood is previously frozen (for example: Tilapia, Alaskan Pollock, and Whiting). Others are never frozen, such as Oysters, Grouper, Salmon, Snapper, Mahi, etc. It does depend on which item you are getting. I am sorry if you got confusing or erroneous info, but with such a large variety, it does depend on which item you're choosing. No matter what, it should be fresh-tasting and should smell like the sea - feel free to ask to smell it (your nose knows!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FRESH seafood prepared to order”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Mid Peninsula has become our go - to place for really good seafood. They do a thriving take-out business. The dining room is no frills with picnic tables, but the food is top notch. The grouper, scallops, and fried shrimp are outstanding. I also recommend the clam chowder. This is a local hangout - off the beaten path for the tourist crowd. After 6 visits, no disappointments at all. We will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank IndyDave31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, MO.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Mom and Pop place!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is our go-to place for great fresh seafood with reasonable prices. Its located on a main road but in a not so great neighborhood but we never had any problems. When you walk in the door, you are greeted promptly by the owners as you try to take in the huge menu, as well as the numerous daily specials. They have a decent fresh seafood case too if u want to buy and take home to cook. Lots of homemade salads, sides an desserts too. You order and pay at the counter, then find a seat in their cute dining area with a hodgepodge of seating options from picnic tables to booths. The food is brought to you. The decor is cute and nautical. They often have live music on evenins and weekends. Nothing we like about this place. They really make you feel at home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BIG dissapointment”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

After deciding to get some smoked fish for Easter, we thought we'd try M.P. They had amberjack,@ 14.99 lb., and salmon. We tried 2 lbs. of the amberjack. It, was dry and flavorless. The $5 shrimp cocktail was 6 little, warm, shrimp, with no sauce.(it was a to-go order). The fish spread was ok. All in all, $50, not well spent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mid Peninsula Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Mid Peninsula Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing