We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, but......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mid Peninsula Seafood

Mid Peninsula Seafood
Ranked #58 of 894 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Proud to be family owned and operated since 1978! Mid Peninsula Seafood is a one stop complete seafood market and restaurant. We have two fresh fish showcases brimming with at least seven different species of fresh finfish, several sizes of shrimp, along with a wide selection of shellfish and other seafood specialties. You can purchase fresh seafood of your choice from our friendly staff, and either bring it home to your own kitchen, or let us cook it for you - by the piece, by the pound, or check out our menu.We are dedicated to providing the freshest selection of both wild caught and sustainable farm-raised seafood, along with home made accompaniments such as soup from scratch, various salads, and of course our homemade desserts. All brought to you with a side of friendly service and personal attention.Stop by or call today, and check out what's fresh!
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food, but......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

......how often is the place cleaned?! It really is filthy and needs a womans touch - we've only ever seen men working in there and go quite often because the food is good. And don't get me started on the state of the toilets! Do these places ever get inspected? A lick of paint would help too.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrisolum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanelle, Owner at Mid Peninsula Seafood, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for your important feedback. We are glad you like our food, but sometimes it does take an outside eye to notice things we don't from behind the counter. The floors are scheduled to be refinished this weekend...ironically, just last Sunday we came in with a crew of four and painted and scrubbed the kitchen on our closed day. As for the bathrooms, enough said. We're on it!
Sincerely,
The Wife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Otterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just as good the second time around all the way from England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Having had such a great welcome and even better food last year we decided to give it a 2nd visit this year and we were not disappointed.

We were recognised as soon as we went in, made to feel like old friends and treated like royalty. My husband and I both each chose the weekend combo special - but we should have shared one because the portions were so big that we needed a doggy bag!

I also bought some smoked salmon for me and some crab salad for my husband to take home and the bill was still just $42. Great value for money and still worth every penny. Highly recommended as good quality food and at a value for money price!

Well done Joan - you have a great winning team!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fish, Fish, Fish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

If you like fried fish, but do not mind simple surroundings, try Mid Peninsula Seafood. This appears to be a popular spot for locals to get take-out meals or seafood to cook at home. Don't expect anything fancy...no fish dishes in a delicate creamy sauce...just good ole fried fish, slaw and fries!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobNepean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Thanks Tripadvisor for this one. This place caters to the locals. I wanted cheap seafood and found it hear. They have kids meals. You order a counter. You can pick your fresh fish out of the display if you choose. They then bring it out to you at you picnic table indoors. The night we were there their was a terrific musician playing. The whole family enjoyed the food and fun.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank dcomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
158 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very fresh and great for the budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We went for lunch. I had been here before but many years ago. I remembered how fresh it was and made a point to go back.

Nothing fancy, the food was fresh and the price was good. I had the scallops, scampi style. I was a bit disappointed at the size of the scallops which were supposed to be sea scallops but were sized like bay scallops. I would order with something other than rice next time as it soaked up all the scampi sauce and left the scallops a bit dry. The flavor was good, however and my Mom's grouper was wonderful.

The people were very nice and we felt welcomed. Will go back again anytime I visit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happysmile165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mid Peninsula Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Mid Peninsula Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing