We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate”
Review of Thai-am Restaurant

Thai-am Restaurant
Ranked #230 of 919 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Portage MI
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“adequate”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had dinner. I had the beef with garlic and black pepper. It was OK, but the beef was a bit tough, and I didn't taste the garlic or pepper. My wife had curry with tofu and said that it was good. My food was warm enough but not hot. The waiter gives you a serving of rice, and had to repeat that midway through the meal. Service was slower than it should have been with two waiters and only 5 occupied tables. The atmosphere was what you'd expect, except the music didn't fit the setting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustJohnPortageMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fear and Loathing of restaurant roaches!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I can't honestly write a review about the food because we didn't get that far. Before we even sat down, a roach crawled across the table! I figure if there are roaches so visible in the dining area, the kitchen itself must be infested. Beware unless you are an entomologist and/or fearless!

Helpful?
1 Thank HRC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Great fresh food, good service and fairly priced. My favorites are fresh spring rolls (not fried) with vegetables only and subtle peanut curry dipping sauce. Can also be ordered with crab or shrimp. My favorite entree is chicken on fire-lightly breaded and fried, with very fresh vegetables in a spicy sauce, lit up with some blue-burning spirit at the table sauce. There is also unlimited rice. My wife likes the pork dumplings and the seafood and chili paste. If in season, don't miss out on the mango and sweet rice for dessert. Gave 4 instead of 5 stars only because of weak wine selections.

Helpful?
Thank phmokda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Real Amazing Cheap Thai Food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was all ready our second time at the restaurant and we were lucky enough to have the sushi and it was a Wednesday so we got to have 4 rolls for $5 each the rolls tasted amazing and with all other stuff we ate it came out to be $42. Really want to go their again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artbor9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Va
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Spicy and delicious”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We went to Thai-Am II restaurant on Gulf Blvd for dinner. I opted for medium spice but my girlfriend went for the hot. Both dishes were excellent and very filling. I also tried conch sushi which was enjoyable as well. The place was clean and the waitress was very friendly and attentive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 11Limited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai-am Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Thai-am Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing