We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Find!”
Review of Moon Under Water

Moon Under Water
Ranked #17 of 916 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lucky Find!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We just happened to be in St. Pete visiting a friend and we drove around a bit looking for a lunch place. As we walked down Beach Drive we spotted Moon Under Water and decided to give it a try. First we sat at the patio, not realizing that smoking is allowed out there (yuck!), so we moved indoors. Our waitress gave us great recommendations and, with trepidation, I tried the curry (half expecting to be disappointed). It was delicious! And the naan was authentic and perfect. I guess those Brits really know their curries. Great place, good atmosphere (seating is a little tight inside, but it's a pub so I guess that's to be expected).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chknndumplins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    547
    155
    45
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galion
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor meal”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The whole family went with us and all got what they wanted! I had the best burger and refreshing cucumber and yogurt cup. Not too badly priced and the service was fine. Had a great time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bar”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great fish and chips and all food we had was very good. Services were great as well. Staff very pleasant and attentive. Atmosphere is nice inside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome English pub feel!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Moon under water has the best fish and chips! We visit often! Great burgers, salad, they have Indian cuisine...I'm just not a fan.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely location”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Moon Under Water is one of my favorite restaurants in St. Petersburg. It is kind of like a British Pub in that you can find shepherds pie and also curry. The curry is my favorite. It's just the right amount of heat and some of the best flavor. The prices are reasonable for being down town St. Petersburg. There is outside seating which allows for people watching. They also have many good appetizers. It's worth checking out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Engelsigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Under Water also viewed

 

Been to Moon Under Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing