We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'must visit' every time we go to St Petes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moon Under Water

Moon Under Water
Ranked #16 of 892 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Bar, International, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bass River, ma
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A 'must visit' every time we go to St Petes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We've been visiting St Petersburg for years and everytime we go, we have to visit Moon Under Water! The food is out of this world! The first visit of this trip, we stopped in for a quick lunch. We all had something different and everyone was highly satisfied! Salads and sandwiches were the quick bite before we hit some museums and the wait staff was excellent at getting us on our way in a good time. We went back for dinner several nights later and were able to sit comfortably outside even though it was February. We started the meal with calamari, which arrived quickly and was finished even quicker! The kids had pot pie and an English pasty while I tried a special which I don't recall the name, but it was curry and vegetables in a pastry (it was wonderful!). My mother had Jerk Chicken and my husband the shrimp special. All meals were incredible, very different and extremely tasty. The wine that the server suggested was also a great pair with our meals. We will always go back to this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gigicape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    508
    149
    44
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Curries are excellent. Fried fish was stellar. Chips are mediocre. Beer selection was above average. Happy Hour on Monday from 3-7 is extremely reasonable. This is a great spot for larger groups since they have a very deep menu and everyone can find something to eat/drink here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun place, different stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Incredible beer and ale selection. I had a pint of Fuller's. A treat. Wife had Blackthorn cider. Too sweet. Sausage rolls as an appetizer were delicious. I had entree of shrimp curry. At least 12 shrimp, flavorful, big. You can choose your own curry from among five. I selected Malay. Perfect with the shrimp and rice. Lapped up all the curry with perfect Nana bread. Wife had tandoori steak. Uneven. Too much fat on steak. She had same dish once before and it was much better. Good atmosphere: casual, busy, alive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Floridians772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
220 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Curry amid Welsh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Dark and woody, reminiscent of a British pub, Moon Underwater has mostly pub style food with a a good amount of Indian food to boot. Several beers, specialty drinks, and some a variety of single malts. Service is very good, food well prepared. Quite busy on weekends and good location if visiting downtown St. Petersburg. Like any pub, there is a fair amount of noise -- it is a pub, isn't it?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lhjraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. petersburg, florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, great price, great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is one of our favorite spots in St. Pete! It's sort of a british pub but they serve just about everything. We love the location, on Beach Drive, where you can sit outside and enjoy the scenery and watch all the people go by. They have huge umbrellas to keep you cool on the really sunny days but I still wouldn't recommend sitting out there in the dead of summer. There is a porch with fans and of course you can sit inside and enjoy the bar, tv's and ac. We've always been happy with the service and everybody seems friendly. Our favorites are the blt, the chop salad, the guiness burger, and the any of the curry dishes. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buckwheat323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Under Water also viewed

 

Been to Moon Under Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing