We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Delightful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Under Water

Moon Under Water
Ranked #20 of 866 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This place has really grown on me. I wasn't a huge fan the first time I went but after going several times I find that I like it more and more. It's a fun pub-like atmosphere and the food is very tasty, and the service is super fast! I have had mostly the curry dishes but everytime we leave here my plate is clean and my belly is full! Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank missliss87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    469
    139
    42
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eloy, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by our realtor, and since being in this area my husband has been trying to find just fish and chips. We went down and found it easily on the waterfront.
My husband ordered the fish and chips, he was asked if he wanted a half order or full...he went with the full and as he say he got a piece of fish the size of a size 12 shoe LOL. He so enjoyed it and left more than full but said next time he would order 1/2 order so as to enjoy some desert. I ordered the beef pasties and it was sooo good and big too, great comfort food with lots to eat. Our service was excellent friendly chatty and always there if we needed something. I would recommend this to anyone looking for great british fare and good food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Improves with age!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I try to visit at least a few times a year, and can honestly say the quality of the food and service has improved a lot. Let me explain, at one time, the menu was limited for 'traditional' food, but thankfully, those items are back. The cod and chips - just brilliant! Right now they have a beer on offer at $3 a pint!
Always good to see the owner Alan walking around, and justifiably proud! Even after all these years, he hasn't lost his Welsh accent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckaneerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location/food, service was less than adequate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited here after reading reviews in Trip Advisor. Great location! The restaurant itself has a lot of character. I had the Fish n Chips. Huge piece of cod! Very good and served hot (a rarity these days)! My partner had the Cuban sandwich (a new discovery during our visit to this area) and it was very good as well!
The service was horrible. An older waitress who acted as if she could care less that we were there. She would disappear and was not attentive.
A man who appeared to be an owner/manager appeared several times, but never bothered to speak to us until he saw me taking a picture outside and heard mention that it was for my review .
Don't know that we will come back until I hear the service is better.....

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmendeznp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location but has gone downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Used to be our favorite St. Pete restaurant but the service was incredibly inattentive on our last visit, and food not as good as it once was. Too bad because you can't beat the location. Fine for beers!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Under Water also viewed

 

Been to Moon Under Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing