We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting British pub with very good food.”
Review of Moon Under Water

Moon Under Water
Ranked #17 of 916 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Pekin, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Interesting British pub with very good food.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had dinner here twice; it is a short walk from the Vinoy hotel where we were staying. The menu was eclectic and our food was very good - salads, curry, fish and chips, etc. The prices were moderate and it was a good value. The staff were friendly and the food arrived promptly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pippadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    547
    155
    45
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Colonial cuisine, best Indian menu, great vegetarian options”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The place offers a huge variety of colonial cuisine from fish and chips , pot pies to Indian curry. We are Indians and we love the way they make their curry - much better than some of the Indian restaurants make them. Also they have great vegetarian options which I have not seen anywhere else - like the vegetarian pot pie made from ground soy (if you are not a fan of tomatoes - you may enjoy it better asking them to skip / go light on the tomatoes - else it is very good). Also there are some veggie pasties that are pretty good.
My husband has the vindaloo there and says it is the hottest he has ever had. Also they have a curry enhancer which you can ask for on the side - which comes in a tiny side dish - but it is the most volcanic thing possible.. even a little bit at the tip of a fork is enough to burn your lips. My husband has a high threshold for hot food (he survives thai hot in most places) but even he does not venture into the curry enhancer once he has a hot dish. Some people order their curry as mild and control the hotness by adding the curry enhancer.
This is definitely the most interesting restaurant in ST. Pete downtown and a must try for any group that has diverse tastes - you will find something for every taste bud, from coconut curry, to fish and chips, to burgers

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebSt_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“excellent quality food”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Travelled to St Petes for the day from Siesta key stopped at the moon under the water for a late lunch, the food was excellent and very good value for money as well. The chef Mike made is feel very welcome. The fish and chips was so light and tasty and the bread and butter pudding yummy. They had a great choice of curry and my sister and i had different ones both were delicious. Lovely view of the bayside too. would recomend a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathybWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good but not fantastic”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Went with 2 kids, ages 9 & 11, and kids' menu is good food and a great price ($5).
I had the chicken curry, which was good but the chicken was a little dry. Service was fast and very attentive. Sort of loud if you sit inside, but fun British pub decor. Would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The British style items are excellent, meat and potatoes-type hearty food such as the traditional bangers and mash, but they have typical American dishes as well: hamburgers, chicken, fish, etc. I had the English Pasty, a light pastry filled with ground beef, vegetables and a tasty creamy gravy with a side of peas; outstanding and a bargain at $12. Guests had The Moon Cobb Salad with crumbled bleu cheese in a tortilla shell and Mojo Chicken with black beans and grilled onions. Food is savory, the place has a fun atmosphere and the service is great. Even the story of its name is interesting. Great location on the waterfront for a nice walk afterward.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Under Water also viewed

 

Been to Moon Under Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing