We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“86 years and counting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coney Island Sandwich Shop

Coney Island Sandwich Shop
Ranked #179 of 892 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“86 years and counting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Super good hot dogs, burgers and chili. Don't pass up the cole slaw. This clean place has been in the same location for the past 86 years, so they must be doing something right. The service is always excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank midniteryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our Heritage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have been enjoying the hot dogs and hamburgers at Coney Island for more than a decade. The staff never quits, they grow old and retire. The sisters who serve the tables are the best servers in the southeast USA.

The smell of the place as your park, the warn old lunch counter, little napkins, full of cops next to nurses. The photos on the wall, a dozen loud conversations at once, loud clanging dishes. There was a very old black man who describes his visits to the back door to get food when he was a boy, How things had changed over his lifetime.

They get to know your name and order after very few visits and the place just feels like a visit to your favorite aunties house. I can taste the love in the food. It is the heartbeat of St. Petersburg for decades. Look for me to tell you my stories from my favorite stool 50 years from now.

If you haven't yet, visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaGulfSailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Leto's Trip to Coney Island Sandwich Shop”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We visited Coney Island Sandwich Shop on November 10, 2012 for lunch. Our experience was not pleasant unfortunately. We used our yellowpages app on our phones to view the menu listed online and upon arriving saw very few of those items available. The menu consisted mostly of hot dogs and hamburgers - not the chicken pitas, salads and more that were advertised online. The hamburgers we ordered were small in comparison to most restaurants - we compared it to a Krystal's burger. The menu is al a carte which is fine but we would have appreciated more than two sandwiches and two drinks for the price we paid. The service was not great by any means. Our waitress slammed our drinks and plates down in front of us and was not friendly at all. We wouldn't recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My mom went as a child, so did I - it is still open and great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nothing beats the taste of a Coney Island hot dog. I left St. Pete many years ago, every time I return I make a trip to get some of the best hot dogs anywhere in the country. If you like 'em grilled, meaty chili sauce, and a friendly atmosphere - make a stop in St. Pete at the Coney Island.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good dogs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We like this local spot for a good dog
Chips and drink but that is about it.
Has been around along time.
Try it for lunch.!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank getofftheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coney Island Sandwich Shop also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Coney Island Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing