We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my all time favorite restaurants!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Mesa

Red Mesa
Ranked #10 of 894 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Of Mexican origin, fused with flavors and favorites from Latin American, Tex-Mex & Caribbean kitchens. A St. Pete landmark, known all over for inspired dining at its best, garnering numerous awards and kudos, most proud of our personal service.
costa rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of my all time favorite restaurants!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been dining at Red Mesa since it opened. The food is terrific, and keeps getting better and better. The enchiladas are flavorful without being over the top. The fish dishes are delicious. I have yet to try a dessert as I am usually to full to even consider it.
The staff have always been friendly, efficient and seem to love the food as much as we. I have taken several friends to Red Mesa and they all want to return.
This is a great find.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lmgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    188
    74
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Unique Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is not in my opinion a typical Mexican restaurant. Went there on a Wednesday night during spring break time, and the place looked slammed. But we managed to have drinks and the Shrimp Fundido at the bar. This was an awesome appetizer, and just the beginning. By the time we finished our appetizer our table was ready. We ordered the duck enchiladas and the cedar plank roasted pork tenderloin. We just kept saying THIS IS INSANE! Everything was so good, it just made us happy to be there. I highly recommend trying as many things as you can here, the menu is just so good. Service was friendly and quick, and our food came out quickly and piping hot. Oh, and they served the duck with swiss chard that was to die for. You know it's good when even the greens make you feel warm and fuzzy inside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank de-travelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our waiter was polite, took our orders accurately and served us quickly. For lunch, I ordered the wild mushroom quesadilla and my date ordered the chicken burrito. The flavor of the quesadillas was good, but the filling was on the meager side and the presentation garnish was chopped cabbage. My date told me that the burrito was all right but she would not order it again. I tasted it and would rate it as Taco Bell quality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Roast Pork Verde”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

When I go to a mexican restaurant for the first time I usually try the Chile Verde, if they serve it. And the Roast Pork Verdi that I had at Red Mesa is excellent! I look forward to going back to try the rest of the menu.

I was seated quickly and the food came out in a flash. The staff is very friendly and efficient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“All six of us loved our lunch!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

It's rare when six people can have lunch at a restaurant and everyone gives it a 10! Two friends that had been here before wanted us to try it. Warm greeting by hostess, excellent service, but most of all, incredibly delicious food. We enjoyed their salsa and guacamole, and the Sangria. One friend's favorite is the roasted pork sandwich, another the wild mushroom quesadilla, I had Shrimp Mojo De Ajo that had wonderful flavors and my vegetarian daughter liked the Black Beans and Sedona Caesar salad.

The owners advised in March they are adding more vegetarian choices: Tofu tacos, Potato tacos, veg enchiladas and rellenos!!! Cannot wait to return, this is a don't miss.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mesa also viewed

 

Been to Red Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing