We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Mesa

Red Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Central American, Spanish, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Of Mexican origin, fused with flavors and favorites from Latin American, Tex-Mex & Caribbean kitchens. A St. Pete landmark, known all over for inspired dining at its best, garnering numerous awards and kudos, most proud of our personal service.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I'm talking about the Red Mesa Cantina in downtown St. Petersburg, not the original location out 4th street, although that, too, is very good. I like the Cantina for lunch on beautiful days when it's not too hot to eat outside in their courtyard. The food is very creatively done "gourmet Mexican". Prices are reasonable, and the courtyard has interesting metal sculptures and a waterfall. I'm not enamored of the Cantina at night, or indoors, for that matter. Night time becomes extraordinarily loud with music entertainment and indoors, the seating is sort of "picnic table" style. The nights are for the young at Red Mesa Cantina and it is considered a hip spot to be, being located next door to the Plush Ultra Lounge.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    173
    65
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Narragansett, RI & Poincian, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great outdoor wetting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If the weather's good, Red Mesa is a must. The food is good, the prices reasonable, but the outside setting makes it a great spot. The service was very good and when the manager found we had gone for three consecutive days, he sent over margarita's on the house. Happy hour drink specials are a good deal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Crapolla”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Passed up my usual Mexican to try this place based on the great reviews. The chips, salsa, house made hot sauce and beer were good but that's where it ended. We ordered two combination plates so that we could try several dishes in one. Almost everything was breaded and/or deep fried then covered with different sauces and salsas. The sauces were tasty but not enough to mask the bland flavour of the food underneath. After peeling off the deep fried coatings which I hate there was hardly any filling for me taste. No quality ingredients here-just cheap fillers. $95 bill for 4 appetizers, 1 kids meal (a disappointing breaded shrimp again) 2 entrées and 4 beers. Wish I had spent my money and night out elsewhere.

Helpful?
2 Thank angusmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ambience, especially outdoors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great ambience that unfortunately was not really matched by the food. Nevertheless we will go back for another try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, snooty management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The food is great...but they aren't the most hospitable. I believe that you always make the customer feel welcome. They will refuse to seat you if ONE person in your party is not there yet. I understand why, but still don't feel like it's very hospitable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkSugarShaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mesa also viewed

 

Been to Red Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing