We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outdoor wetting!”

Red Mesa Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 897 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Wine Bar, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Of Mexican origin, fused with flavors and favorites from Latin American & Caribbean kitchens. From street food to alta cocina, a St. Pete landmark, known all over for inspired dining at its best, garnering numerous awards and kudos and most proud of our personal service.
Narragansett, RI & Poincian, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great outdoor wetting!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

If the weather's good, Red Mesa is a must. The food is good, the prices reasonable, but the outside setting makes it a great spot. The service was very good and when the manager found we had gone for three consecutive days, he sent over margarita's on the house. Happy hour drink specials are a good deal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    193
    76
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Crapolla”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Passed up my usual Mexican to try this place based on the great reviews. The chips, salsa, house made hot sauce and beer were good but that's where it ended. We ordered two combination plates so that we could try several dishes in one. Almost everything was breaded and/or deep fried then covered with different sauces and salsas. The sauces were tasty but not enough to mask the bland flavour of the food underneath. After peeling off the deep fried coatings which I hate there was hardly any filling for me taste. No quality ingredients here-just cheap fillers. $95 bill for 4 appetizers, 1 kids meal (a disappointing breaded shrimp again) 2 entrées and 4 beers. Wish I had spent my money and night out elsewhere.

Helpful?
2 Thank angusmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ambience, especially outdoors”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great ambience that unfortunately was not really matched by the food. Nevertheless we will go back for another try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, snooty management”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The food is great...but they aren't the most hospitable. I believe that you always make the customer feel welcome. They will refuse to seat you if ONE person in your party is not there yet. I understand why, but still don't feel like it's very hospitable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkSugarShaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“yummm”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

whether i've been looking for brunch, lunch, dinner or just drinks, i have yet to be disappointed by red mesa! their food is so mouthwatering...so delicious...the service is great...the atmosphere is gorgeous...drinks are tasty and strong! you can't miss here!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KanataChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mesa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Mesa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing