We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier customer service & dog friendly!”
Review of Hollander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hollander Hotel
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Premier customer service & dog friendly!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Yes, it's an old hotel in an older "inner city" area but they have done a great job making it homey and comfortable. We ate multiple meals in the restaurant and only one wasn't great (it was the regular cooks day off). Drinks are priced right. Try out Martini Mondays. .. $5. Also Tuesday for $3. Craft beers. Ideal location for attending a Rays game or in our case, our grandson's graduation.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gator G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    372
    77
    11
    11
See reviews for
193
656
82
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The employees were knowledgeable, considerate,personable and accommodating. The rooms, clean and comfortable. Bar and restaurant exceeded expectations. I highly recommend this hotel
Walking distance to downtown St. Petersburg, but if u choose, there is a tram that runs from 6PM to 11PM. Free convenient parking. I love boutique hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lms2162A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is great. It's in a great location (4-5 blocks from the beach, 15-20 min walk). The downtown area with all of the bars and restaurants is also within a 15-20 walk. The hotel itself is really neat. It has an old school vibe with some of the pictures on the wall and some of the furniture. The lobby is nice with cool decorations all around. The outside patio is great for hanging out, listening to music, having drinks and even eating breakfast, lunch or dinner. On Saturdays and Sundays, they have a breakfast buffet for $10, which is unbeatable. Good music being played and ample space in the dining room or if you want to sit outside.

We checked in around 11:30pm and Matt, the overnight guy, was super nice and cordial. He gave us some good information of the surrounding area and where to go for drinks, etc. The room was fine for what it is. I did like that it had a microwave and a mini fridge. Great sleep. No outside noises to bother us. There's no hotel phone in the room but they do give you a phone number to ring the front desk if you need anything. Not a big deal. We only called once to request a late checkout (which they gave us).

The staff was friendly and attentive. My gf had a bad headache and I asked about a store so I can buy Tylenol or something. The FD clerk instead gave me two Advils so my gf was def pleased. I also had to print out some passes and the clerk allowed me to use the computer at the FD.

Overall great place to stay for the money. We paid avg of $110/night so no complaints here.
Also, the bar had a great selection of beer. 21 taps to choose from. awesome!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willieg313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed only one night, and I was thankful that it was only one. The lobby and first floor of the hotel is charming and I really enjoyed the quirky decor. It had that cool funky hipster vibe, but with authenticity instead of attitude. The attached coffee shop is great, and like others mentioned - Jeremy was attentive and accommodating. The desserts are as good as they look! I enjoyed sitting in the cafe and reading magazines while cooling off from the heat outside. The restaurant in the hotel was also great, and coming from a city like DC, a great deal I had a full breakfast (2 eggs, sausage, potatoes, eggs) for only $5! It was very tasty too. I'm hard pressed to find a breakfast as good for less than $10 in my area.

When the best things you can remember about a hotel stay are the restaurant and cafe, there might be a problem. Upon arriving in our room, it was easy to see where quality was lacking. I can't figure out how this hotel qualifies as a 3 star, when the room quality is about what I would expect from an economy hotel (days inn, motel 6). The overall cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired. The bathroom especially was cramped and dirty. Hair on the floor and walls. Red mildew on the bathtub liner. The worst was when I went to dry off with a bath towel and found long hairs all over it. I had to stand there, shaking and picking off the hair from both of the towels. Disgusting. I couldn't call room service to send up more towels because the rooms don't have phones and I could not find the paper they had given to call their front desk. Although the bed was comfortable enough, I also found a few hairs on the bed and noticed yellowed pillows peeking through the pillow cases. If we were staying for more than the one night, I would have changed rooms or possibly gone to another hotel.

Location-wise, the hotel was convenient enough. When we arrived, I noticed a drunk man stumbling across the street towards the hotel even though it was only mid-afternoon during the week. I also noticed a sketchy character smoking near the parking lot and a few others in the park nearby. I don't think I would walk around by myself in the area during the off-hours. However, the shops and boutiques and waterfront were only a short walk from the hotel, about five minutes. The front desk was very helpful and gave us a map and pointed us in the right direction. There are a lot of beautiful, historic and architecturally interesting buildings all around St. Petersburg and an eclectic group of shops and cafes.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, as the floors tend to creak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OffCourseTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Hollander was recommended to my wife and I by a friend (another Trip Advisor). The staff could not have been friendlier or attentive. The room was very clean - a wonderful boutique hotel. The restaurant serves excellent food at an affordable price. The hotel is within walking distance to the many shops and restaurants in downtown St. Pete.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SrPbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Spent the long holiday weekend in St. Pete, FL at the Hollander Hotel. This place has a fun & funky vibe; cozy sitting rooms all around the place, interesting decor & a GREAT bar right in the lobby. Rooms can be a little small and don't expect all the newest upgrades that you have to pay extra for. This has more of an historic feel. Staff is A-1, both the hotel & bar plus a great location near all the great cafes, museums, waterfront, etc that St. Pete has become over the past few years. Price, location & service; what else could you want? Hey Detroiters, they have the REAL Detroit coney dog on the menu here.

Room Tip: Just book & take a chance - what can be so bad?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

If you're looking for a nice place to stay near downtown St. Pete the Hollander is it! The staff are super friendly and really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. They also offer a free shuttle to nearby attractions such as Tropicana field, museums and restaurants.
We stayed on the 2nd floor and the room was quiet, cool and the bed & pillows were super comfy. There was a flat screen TV, microwave and mini fridge as well. The food and drinks are also fabulous at the downstairs restaurant and bar. Again, if you're coming from across the bay or from across the country, you won't be disappointed. PS - Stop and say hello to Jeremy in the Café, a very friendly and hardworking young man.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDTPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#23 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollander Hotel

Property: Hollander Hotel
Address: 421 4th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful new boutique Hotel 0.3 Miles from the city center of St.Petersburg. Downtown and all it has to offer is just a stroll away. Come and enjoy the restaurant, bar, and hotel. Live music Friday and Saturday nights. Best music in town. Blues/Jazz/Pop and more. Relax and enjoy our Beautiful New pool and outdoor Bar area, with Cabana rentals available. $3 Craft Beer on Tuesday night. Get a massage in our spa or enjoy the in house coffee bar "Common Grounds" with a different specialty coffee every morning to start your day. Breakfast served 7 days a week. We also have a full 2 bars to satisfy your every need. At the Hollander we aim to please, and if you read our reviews you will see that our guests believe we are succeeding. Come home to the Hollander on your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hollander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing