We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New life for an antique biulding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hollander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“New life for an antique biulding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Hollander has returned to its original splendor as a hotel. I like the fact that although furnishings in the rooms, hallways and lobby are eclectic/modern, many of the antique finishes have remained. The result is an interesting mix of the past and present. Each floor of the hotel has an area for guests to meet (rooms are small). The lobby is also a nice place to meet friends for an interesting cocktail or food while listening to live music on weekends. The location is within walking distance to the Jannus block and Beach Drive, so this spot is an excellent weekend get away-to stay a night or just an hour or so.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gweny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    354
    74
    11
    11
See reviews for
181
617
79
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is a little gem! If you're looking for a chain, go elsewhere. If you're looking for old school charm with a great staff and cleanliness, look no further! We only stayed one night, but we will never stay anywhere else when visiting the area. It is close to the downtown hot spots, close driving to the beaches and Tampa.

Wonderful Bar in the lobby with restaurant that had a great buzz the whole time we were there. Also, small coffee shop and a wonderful veranda that stretches the entire length of the building with plenty of seating.

Room had all the basics, including beautiful hardwood floors that shined!! Wall mounted flat screens, comfy king size bed, closet. Bathroom is small, but just fine for its purpose. Remember, building was built in 1933. Cleanliness is more important to me than square footage. In fact, I prefer the quaint smaller places.

Will at the front desk is treasure. He truly wants to help is customers he treats you like family. Cleaning staff was so friendly, as well as night front desk.

Cannot say enough about this hotel. If you value being treated like a special guest in a special place, make your reservation now!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktcarc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Let me start by thanking the oh-so accommodating owners, Nick and Will, George the fantastic jack-of- all trades manager, and Susan our spectacular waitress at The Tap Room..and the chefs of course!

My husband, my 13 year old daughter, and me stayed at The downtown Hollander August 21-24, 2013. I had done extensive research to find an affordable, quality, family- friendly top-rated hotel close to Tropicana Field ..my daughters first Yankee game was August 23...got great tix and the Hollander shuttles you to and from the nearby stadium ... Worked out great for us! Thanks for the fun ride George!

The Hollander is a boutique hotel where you feel more at home than in a cookie cutter impersonal hotel ..you have to check it out...even if not staying there, you must have dinner at The Tap Room... The Grouper dinner was unbelievable and so reasonable as are the 21 craft brews on tap ..Susan our waitress was so pleasant and helpful..she even helped us score a coveted table on Trivia night ...so much fun and met some really nice locals and out-of-towners.

Having researched, I was aware that rooms were generally small..but we reserved a large 2 Queen Bed suite with full kitchen and fridge .. It was plenty large ..we also knew to ask for room on 3rd floor to ensure quiet ... Just a tip..i am used to dead quiet country nights and the street sounds were something i had to adjust to.. Earplugs sid the trick..my daughter slept like a rock... Her fave part..the to-die-for steak dinner, and being in charge of our table for Trivia night!

Nick helped me print out our boarding passes as i was pretty lame trying to do it myself..ha! George printed us directions to The Lowry Park Zoo, and Will told us when we could get into Trop for pre-game events..it was a really fun time all around.. We have already been recommending The Hollander to family and friends..a rare 5 star stay at discount pirces..check it out..you won't regret it! And don't forget the great coffee shop and spa they have as well! Oh and pet- friendly too! FUNTASTIC... WE WILL BE BACK!!

Room Tip: Top floor away from restaurant and not right on 4th Ave ...keeping a/c on fan mode gave me white noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

ask For Zack At The Front DeSK he Is So Hospitable. His Professionalisim, Kindness, aNd Helpfulness Increased THe Desire To Stay. Being A Pet Friendly Hotel Is Wonderful Due To Pets Being Like Our Kids. Love A Place Who Accepts Our Furry Loves. The Building Is Beautiful Feels Like A TraveL Through Time. Convinient Addition Is The Delicious Restaurant. Enjoyed It So Much. Rate Was Great. Food Delicious. Experience Bragable. RecommendAble: Totally!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bavi872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Again stayed at in town hotel and gave family our house .. Need more places like this reviewed so we can stay there when we visit your cities. Fun friendly location no car needed to enjoy the city and well priced. The room was good. Great by European standards coffee , bar restaurant all there and many more close by. Great job on the remodel

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room. It is a small hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kemomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were there just for one night. We had a long road trip so what we needed was good food and good sleep. Asked the reception to have quiet room and we were given one. The room was nicely decorated with a little personal touch, not like the chain hotels, that was good. We had everything we needed only minor was the room space, normally in US the rooms are bigger.
The bar downstairs was great with a lot of choice of beers and some decent bar food.
We had a good sleep our battery’s were charged and we could move on to our next stopover.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent only one night at this wonderful, quaint hotel. We parked our car and didn't move it until we checked out on Sunday morning. We ate in their wonderful restaurant. The food was sooo good. Try the Greek pizza. Yummmmo. We went to a baseball game and were shuttled there by their own pink golf cart. And after the game, after we found our rendezvous point, we were shuttled right back to the hotel. Try this hotel. It's clean, convenient, and friendly. Buffet on Sunday morning and their own in-house coffee shop. Hollander, we will be back !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
8.0 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollander Hotel

Property: Hollander Hotel
Address: 421 4th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful new boutique Hotel 0.3 Miles from the city center of St.Petersburg. Downtown and all it has to offer is just a stroll away. Come and enjoy the restaurant, bar, and hotel. Live music Friday and Saturday nights. Best music in town. Blues/Jazz/Pop and more. Relax and enjoy our Beautiful New pool and outdoor Bar area, with Cabana rentals available. $3 Craft Beer on Tuesday night. Get a massage in our spa or enjoy the in house coffee bar "Common Grounds" with a different specialty coffee every morning to start your day. Breakfast served 7 days a week. We also have a full 2 bars to satisfy your every need. At the Hollander we aim to please, and if you read our reviews you will see that our guests believe we are succeeding. Come home to the Hollander on your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hollander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing