We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really interesting place”
Review of Hollander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollander Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A really interesting place”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I just spent one night here in July but we both felt it was a really characterful place. Quite well placed for the waterfront and not too far from the Dali museum.

The room was basic but very clean and comfortable. The staff were all very helpful.

We ate in the hotel and it was 'trivia night' (pub quiz to us English) and it really added to the atmosphere. There were lots of excellent beers available and it was interesting to try 2 or 3 of them. The menu was reasonably basic but that does not mean it was not good. The meal we had was very tasty and the service was excellent.

A basic breakfast was also included.

Good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThemaceSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    378
    81
    12
    10
See reviews for
201
678
84
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mölnlycke
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Its a good place with lots of parking spaces. Walking distance to downtown St Petes. Nice and clean rooms. We stayed in a suite and there was a lot of space for clothes and stuff. And the kitchen area was great. And great staff!! Especially Will, who was very helpful and kind!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband found this place while working in Tampa ... We both just stayed there last night!!! Food is amazing, hotel staff is top notch!!! And rooms are super clean n cozy!! Love the huge front porch!! Coffee bar is amazing and the lady working there was great!! Made me the best cup of joe I've had in awhile!!! Well b back !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Missed a connection in Tampa, had to stay a night, and was lucky to find this nice small hotel about 20-25 minutes from the airport. I just walked in, got a good rate, enjoyed their nice lobby bar and their proximity to the entertainment district in St. Petersburg. Turned what could have been a lousy night at some airport motel into a fun night. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheremike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, General Manager at Hollander Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We Thank you very much for staying with us, We enjoyed having you.
Thank you again for the nice compliments and we look forward to seeing
you back on your next trip to St Pete.

sincerely, Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

What an amazing find! My wife and I happened to find this hotel when looking for a pet friendly place to stay in St. Petersburg and chose it based on the high reviews it received on tripadvisor. It is perfectly located next door to a spa, a block from the Theatre, a 10 minute walk from the riverfront, a 5 minute ride from the Dali museum..... The place is just one buzzling hip place to be with the an amazing lobby, ambiance, and live entertainment during the nights. Delicious meals, $10 Sunday brunch and just all around good people. During our entire weekend we found the staff to go above and beyond in their hospitality and knowledge. We didn't have to use our car at all as the hotel has complimentary golf-cart shuttles that can take you or pick you up at the nearby loations. The hotel was built in 1933, so it has a hip-antique-ness to it and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Definetly coming back A LOT. My first review - because it was THAT good. Congrats to the Hollander Team, you're great!

Room Tip: the rooms are "older" but very comfortable and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived about 4 and the reception staff did help out by checking our rental bike was in a good spot for security and I have to say they also organised a free golf buggy ride downtown for us as it is a good 20-30 walk there. However we werent that impressed with downtown, got approached by more homeless guys there than anywhere else we visited on our trip. When we got back to the bar it was clearly a locals spot and we felt a little out of place, then up to our room which was more than a bit dated and pulling the sheets back there were a couple of bed bugs making themselves comfortable!! Went down to reception and they were pretty good, immediately offered us a refund and helped with the nearest alternatives, but a very disappointing stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, General Manager at Hollander Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments, We DO NOT Have Bed bugs, We had a small termite problem,
that has been taken care of. We appreciate all comments, however it helps to all know the facts before making such comments.. We wish you well.

sincerely, Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at the Hollander for a week for work, and was happy to enjoy the Hollander on my down time. I also had friends visit, and we ended up enjoying wine at their downstairs lounge.
This truly is a one stop shop. Conveniently, just steps outside my hotel room (on site) was a restaurant, bar, coffee shop, spa, and huge outdoor patio lounge where you can enjoy in the restaurant menu or lounge and read a book. Also, they host events throughout the week such as trivia night and live music. If you can peel yourself away from this place, its only a site seeing walk away from lots of restaurants, shops, museums (Dali, Holocaust, Modern arts), and Tampa bay waterfront, or take the complimentary golf car ride.
The managers Will and Nick were there 7 days a week it seems, genuinely friendly, and are making sure everyone is happy. George at the front desk was accommodating and friendly too, helping me in with groceries.
Most importantly to me, this is a dog friendly/loving place, he was welcomed wherever I ventured.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MelS_RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 41 in St. Petersburg
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#4 of 41 in St. Petersburg
593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 41 in St. Petersburg
1,614 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollander Hotel

Property: Hollander Hotel
Address: 421 4th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful new boutique Hotel 0.3 Miles from the city center of St.Petersburg. Downtown and all it has to offer is just a stroll away. Come and enjoy the restaurant, bar, and hotel. Live music Friday and Saturday nights. Best music in town. Blues/Jazz/Pop and more. Relax and enjoy our Beautiful New pool and outdoor Bar area, with Cabana rentals available. $3 Craft Beer on Tuesday night. Get a massage in our spa or enjoy the in house coffee bar "Common Grounds" with a different specialty coffee every morning to start your day. Breakfast served 7 days a week. We also have a full 2 bars to satisfy your every need. At the Hollander we aim to please, and if you read our reviews you will see that our guests believe we are succeeding. Come home to the Hollander on your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing