We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique hotel”
Review of Hollander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hollander Hotel
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Unique hotel”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for a night based completely on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Quirky and unique property within walking distance to all the sights we wanted to check out. Loved the beer selection and the laid back vibe at The Tap room. Service was SLOW but friendly for dinner and breakfast- food was good though. We had a wonderful gold cart tour by a super knowledgeable driver who really knew all about the area and gave us great recommendations. Only negatives would be the slightly sketchy parking situation and the smell of cigarette smoke on the floor of our room.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SFLMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, General Manager at Hollander Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the Great review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The Golf cart is a fun and easy way to get around the downtown area. We are a NON smoking hotel, and I do apologize for someone sneaking a CIG in their room. I have already talked with the housekeepers to let me know immediately of any smoke smell in the halls or rooms. Thank you so much for staying with us, We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely, Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    372
    77
    11
    11
See reviews for
193
655
82
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I've always stayed at the bigger chain hotels, but the photos of this place made me really want to try it. It was great. The staff was extremely helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable, and the restaurant was good. There was no iron in the room, but I didn't really need it. I bet if I'd asked at the front desk they could've provided me with one. I absolutely look forward to my next visit to The Hollander, it will be my preferred hotel from here on.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sknapp351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during our visit to St. Pete and Tampa. This is an absolute great hotel. Great atmosphere and very Nice staff. The tap room is a great inhouse restaurant and beer bar! The only downside was the bed (it was uneven, maybe it was broken, we reported it and the staff would look into it). In my opinion the hotel should loose the "breakfast" and refer their guest to "Brew D Licious" coffee house. They have great coffee (beats Starbucks) and fresh muffins. All you need to start your day!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aschuilenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

New hotel on Fourth Ave N and Fourth street recommended to us by a local friend. Reasonable, very friendly, great bar and restaurant and Coffee shop in Lobby. Close walk to Central Ave and Beach Dr. and they have a large golf cart for shuttling guests around. Strong Recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, General Manager at Hollander Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for you compliments, we enjoyed having you stay in our hotel. We look forward to seeing you back.

Thanks, Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
125 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

After I screwed up my reservation and Stephanie from America's Best Inn sent us over here we ended up being quite content. The room was small but well renovated. The Tap Room downstairs is an interesting and amazingly popular local pub/bar/restaurant. The breakfast omelets (not included) were great as was eating on the front patio. Location was great for visiting the downtown area. Friday night parking was tough with so many locals in the Tap Room. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We recently went to the Hollander Hotel. It is such a unique place dating back to the 1930's. So much fun to stay a place that has history and character. The hotel is amazing I will tell my friends from out of state to stay there. It is close to downtown and the Pier.

The room was very clean and inviting. The whole facility was well maintained.

I really enjoyed meeting the manager Will, he really took an interest in us to make sure we had everything we needed and enjoyed our stay. Michelle was our waitress for breakfast she was awesome so friendly.

We really had a great time. Thank you to The Hollander Hotel and staff for everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisalily4891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, General Manager at Hollander Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
It was Great having you stay with us, And you being so close, we look forward to seeing you back soon..

Thanks, Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

During our trip in the southern US we also stopped at Tampa Bay and we were very happy that we chose for St. Petersburg. It is a lovely city with a special friendly atmosphere. This atmosphere radiated also in the Hollander hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. When you enter the hotel you will get amazed by the decoration and of course the Tap House, where they have 21 beers on draught. If you love beer, you are in the right place.
The rooms are perfect, equipped with a convenience that you need.
And in the weekend you can also enjoy a great breakfast.
We could not find any negative point to mention about this place. It is just perfect.
You come to the right place in the perfect town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowTrippery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#6 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#23 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollander Hotel

Property: Hollander Hotel
Address: 421 4th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful new boutique Hotel 0.3 Miles from the city center of St.Petersburg. Downtown and all it has to offer is just a stroll away. Come and enjoy the restaurant, bar, and hotel. Live music Friday and Saturday nights. Best music in town. Blues/Jazz/Pop and more. Relax and enjoy our Beautiful New pool and outdoor Bar area, with Cabana rentals available. $3 Craft Beer on Tuesday night. Get a massage in our spa or enjoy the in house coffee bar "Common Grounds" with a different specialty coffee every morning to start your day. Breakfast served 7 days a week. We also have a full 2 bars to satisfy your every need. At the Hollander we aim to please, and if you read our reviews you will see that our guests believe we are succeeding. Come home to the Hollander on your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hollander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing