We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Track”
Review of Derby Lane

Derby Lane
Ranked #22 of 127 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic Derby Lane, the St. Petersburg Kennel Club, is the oldest continuously operating greyhound track in the world. We offer year-round greyhound racing with Matinees at 12:30pm and Evening performances at 7:30pm. Visit our website for our current Racing schedule. The Derby Lane Poker Room offers Live Action and Tournament play Monday through Thursday from 9am-3am, and 24 hours on weekends. We have many restaurants for you to enjoy some of the best food in St. Pete, including our famous buffet in Circa 1925. We also offer simulcast racing. Stop by for lunch and catch your favorite Thoroughbred or Harness race. You can even watch and wager on a Jai Alai game.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Nice Track”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you like dog racing this is a great track. The field is beautiful, the dogs look great and healthy. Unfortunately it is a little lacking on comforts. bleacher seating, very little selection of drinks or food to be purchased. Living in the retirement state of Florida I have seen some Really great tracks that cater to a more picky crowd. Derby lane seem like it is only catering to the minimum the crowd requires instead of being spectacular to get a better crowd. Still for a cool evening out to have a little fun gambling in the fresh air, this is the spot in St. Pete...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    76
    21
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
262 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Needs revamp”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

It's just ok or we would go more, the food alternatives are below par , and the bartenders seem like they don't want to be there

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Alaska
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Guests are always curious about this attraction...”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Let me start by saying I am not a fan of greyhound racing. I find it difficult to follow & too fast to really enjoy it as a sporting event. That said, we have taken guests here at least twice, and I have gone several more times with a group of friends on a social outing. We always do the buffet. The buffet is ok..plenty of food & an extensive selection, but I find the line to be really long and slow. The food is good, but I can not characterize it great for the price that is charged. The facility is nicely run, clean, and an interesting attraction for visitors but, in an area that has lovely beaches, I would much rather spend my time at one of the many exquisite beaches that are close by.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank denalihalibut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some people...”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

@Flo33706 - Greyhounds are beautiful, majestic animals and it would be a disservice to them if they weren't running. There are numerous greyhound adoption groups all over the country who work directly with the tracks and breeders to find a home for the dogs that aren't interested in racing. Now, what would be a shame and the epitome of an ignorant, uncivilized society would be to outright ban greyhound racing so thousands of greyhounds would most likely be euthanized because there would not be enough homes to take them in. The breeders would no longer have enough income to take care of them (income they receive from racing) and the adoption groups could not financially handle the volume of dogs coming to them. If you have the capacity to think, try that before you speak.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aelli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indian rocks beach fl
Level Contributor
73 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Friday night buffet at the club is great!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

riday night buffet s great, better that most country club around, the kids must have 10+ , we had a great time, they could watch the race and have a great meal, I wil go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank flfrenchfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derby Lane also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Derby Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing