We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Good Location”
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stayed at the Hampton Inn on Beach Drive in downtown St. Petersburg on June 30 to July 2. We live in the Daytona Beach area and were in St. Petersburg to attend a baseball game and Bush Gardens. We decided on the Hampton Inn based on TA reviews. This Hampton Inn was more than acceptable. Check-in and check-out were super easy. The beds were clean and very comfortable. It is a very quiet, peaceful hotel. There was no commotion or noise in the hallways or adjacent rooms, and if there was we couldn't hear it. Our 5 and 7-year-old boys were with us. They were very comfortable and enjoyed the hotel. The pool on the second floor was nicely-maintained and fun. There are movies to rent free of charge at the front desk (every room has a DVD player). The hotel rooms have a dorm size refrigerator and a microwave. You could easily pack a lot of drinks and snacks, even dinner, into this fridge if you were so inclined. There is an ironing board, iron, hair dryer, and coffee maker in every room.

The breakfast area is very nice and has just about everything a person could want for breakfast. It was quite good and the area was nicely maintained.

The downtown area is beautiful. There is no shortage of interesting shops and restaurants. We didn't shop or explore the downtown, except for The Pier which is in easy walking distance. BayWalk and the rest of downtown St. Pete seemed very nice and we would have loved to explore and shop if we had more time.

The shuttle to the baseball game was in easy walking distance. We were on our way, sort of lost , two streets away and looking for the shuttle. Suddenly the shuttle appeared and stopped for us and asked, "going to the ball game?" We felt very lucky and hopped on.

Valet parking at the hotel was convenient and we never had to wait more than a few minutes for our vehicle. It was a very nice stay and I would stay here again. We paid 169 per night for two beds via the hotel website.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NurseLRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    277
    52
    20
    13
See reviews for
275
322
51
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimauma, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Our daughter married on a floating chapel in St. Pete in March. We had guest from many states, including Alaska. Mgr John was exceptionally accomodating when we booked, gave good price on block of rooms, and kept in contact before and after via email and phone.

Spring break but it was quiet and food was just OK.
A guest said VIP suite dark (?) but she was moved.
Rooms and suites clean.
Use the valet parking $10 is not much for the ambiance.

Only complaint we had was OUT suite wasn't ready by 3pm even though we had special arrangements leaving me to dress on the boat and Father of Bride 20 minutes to dress to get to boat for 4pm wedding.

  • Liked — Close to the Pier, many things for guests to do b4 and after wedding.
  • Disliked — Construction around, room not ready even though it was discussed in advance and special occasion.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ez4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2008

The Hampton Inn Downtown had all great reviews on TripAdvisor, as well as every other site I checked. I can only join in and reiterate everything everyone has said. GREAT location, steps away from the water and the many lovely parks for sitting and walking, great dining, art galleries and museums. Excellent customer service and genuinely friendly and helpful staff. The room as spacious, including a microwave and small fridge. Our balcony was most pleasant to have a place to sit outside while chilling in the room. The free breakfast was ample and varied, including the daily 2 hot entrees. Always a fresh fruit salad and whole oranges, which were a great snack for later. Coffee is available all day. If you're staying in downtown St Petersburg, this is a most excellent choice.

  • Liked — Location,accomodations and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Altered_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2008

EXCELLENT location behind the ST. Petersburg Yacht Club, very close to the marina, shopping, great dining, great nightlife! This Hampton is first class with $10 valet parking (do it!), friendly and knowledgable staff, comfortable rooms, and a nice breakfast. Received a free upgrade to a king-suite, which was great as I was there for 3 nights w/my wife! The fitness room has a couple of decent treadmills, weights, a flat screen TV and water cooler. LOTS of great restaurants and bars in walking distance. I will definitely stay here again when I return to St. Pete.

  • Liked — VERY CLEAN, great location, well appointed room
  • Disliked — really, nothing to complain about...it's a really great place to stay
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Zapinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

I travel frequently and typically, Hampton's can be on the lower end of the Hilton chain. However, not this one. Room was very big and tastefully decorated. We had a balcony room which was nice to have the outdoor option. The lobby sundry was very convenient and the hotel is in walking distance to everything downtown. The bed was sooo comfy wanted to stay another night.

Don't waste your money on the Vinoy, save a few bucks stay here and enjoy a good meal with the change.

  • Liked — Value for the price, bedding, balcony, proximity to all downtown
  • Disliked — Parts of the hotel do overlook some construction but assume that will change over time
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hpychk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
582 reviews
240 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

I really liked this hotel for its location in downtown St. Petersburg. Three of us headed over from Orlando to attend the Red Sox baseball game. Tropicana Field is about a mile (maybe slightly more) due west of the hotel. We opted to walk instead of taking the free shuttle which boarded a couple of blocks away according to the bellhop but didn't run until an hour before the game. We were upgraded to a balcony suite even though we had reserved a regular suite. The room had a king size bed with a very soft comforter. The mattress was a little too firm for me, but I am not complaining about that. The television had about 60 channels and was good. There was a sofa bed which the 21 year old in the group slept on. My back would not have been happy on it. There was a nice chair with an ottoman and a work tray was also provided. There was a DVD player, but we did not use it. The bathroom had a good size tub, and many extras were provided (creams, shampoos, conditioners, etc.) We were on the second floor in Room #220. It was quiet, and I didn't hear any outside noise. The ice machine was 20 feet one way and the elevator just a bit further the other way. The was a 24 hour excercise room which looked well equiped with a television, but I didn't use it even though it probably would have been a good idea. There was an outdoor pool, and a few people were sunning, but again, I was mainly there for a baseball game. The breakfast was good with good strong coffee (as well as weak normal coffee), tea, juices, milks, doughnuts and other breads. The hot buffet included biscuits and sausage gravy and fried eggs. The sausage gravy was better than Cracker Barrel's but not as good as Bob Evans'. If you're there for a baseball game, stop by Ferg's (on Central Avenue 100 yards fron the stadium) before the game. A pitcher of beer is $7 there where as 12 ounces in $7 at the game. They also had good burgers, Cuban sandwiches, and barbecue pulled pork sandwices. I didn't try any of the appetizers, but they had many types of chicken wings. It's also in the Delta Dining guide so you can earn some SkyMiles if you're in the dining progam. The Hampton Inn also gives Delta SkyMiles if you've included that with your reservation. NOW!!!--the one negative. Valet parking costs $10 a day. You can park on the streets if you wish, but you have to make sure you're in an area that allows for overnight parking plus it's on the streets. They should include parking with the price. I wouldn't even give the valet a tip where as I would have if the price had been built in. In my opinion, the $10 included the tip and their inconvenience. They even post a sign in the room to call 30 minutes in advance to retrieve your car. I didn't notice the sign until I went down to get the car, but they got my car in less than 3 minutes so there was not an issue. It's a great place to stay if you have to be in downtown St. Pete especially if you're going to a baseball game. I will consider staying there next year if I continue my tradition of seeing the Red Sox play when they visit Tampa Bay! Go Sox!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — overpriced Valet parking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

We arrived in st Petersburg on friday of Memorial day weekend I saw the sign for Hampton inn and went straight there as any hamption inn I have stayed in has been great. When we book in they up graded us to a suit at no extra charge. Our room was great bed as always in a hampton so so comfortable. Nice pool. and gym room. Handy laundry room and free internet acess in the reception was really great. Breakfast was nice. Great location for food shopping and a few drinks. Would deffinatly stay again. Staff very helpful printing ot maps for us also.

  • Liked — comfortable bed and location
  • Disliked — cost for parking
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank doozerkilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
734 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Address: 80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
St Petersburg Hampton Inn
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing