We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good service . . but a few minus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good service . . but a few minus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very good service hotel, nice and accommodating at the reception. Breakfast as usual good (but I am not big on breakfast!) Nice outdoor swimming pool - could have been bigger, but. . . Flexible and attentive reception, nice with a fridge in the room - but only coffee, no tea!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrArnie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for the review. Our standard procedure is to have a tea packet in every room every day. Tea is also available 24/7 in the lobby. I apologize for the lack of tea in your room and I will review this with housekeeping. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    268
    52
    20
    13
See reviews for
262
311
48
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunnellon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

very nice hotel in middle of everything, comfy beds with buffet breakfast and coffee on all day in lobby. little expensive. you have to park on the street or pay valet to park. but otherwise a nice clean hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. Being in the middle of a downtown area, parking is always a little challenging. We always strive to make sure the valet parking experience is a pleasant convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

In town for a wedding and short vacation. Hotel is in a very good location. Staff is as friendly and helpful as I have seen in recent memory. Breakfast is well above average in quality and and quantity. Rooms were fine and pool area is clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for recognizing the hard work of our hotel staff both in keeping the property nice and in their positive guest service attitude. We appreciate your taking the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location was excellent and the staff was friendly. The rooms were average and a little noisy if you were across from the elevators. The pool area was nice and the breakfast was good with a good variety of items to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Our "average" rooms are being upgraded dramatically as we speak. We are nearing completion of the first stage of our renovation and I'm sure you will be pleased with the results. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked this hotel to be close to Tropicana Field for some baseball games. It is very close and just a free bus ride away. Rooms, Staff and Complimentary Buffet Breakfast were all top notch. Kids loved the pool, walking distance to everything thing you need. See you next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing the kind review. As the Rays make their playoff push, we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the property to attend a function in downtown St. Pete. The location is awesome, essentially walk to anything downtown. All members of the staff were very helpful, from the valet, to check in, to breakfast room, to housekeeping. I've stayed in may Hamptons and this is probably the best one. Facility is in great shape.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
To be cited as "probably the best" Hampton someone has stayed at is high praise. We humbly accept your compliment and will continue working hard to earn your future business. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here while we attended an event at Mahaffey Theater. It is close to all the action in downtown St. Petersburg. We used to live in St. Pete and I love to come back and visit downtown. The Hampton also has a nice breakfast set up with a variety of eats.

Room Tip: We had a king balcony. If you think you get a view of the bay they say yes but there is so many othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
The Mahaffey is a superb venue and more than worthy of a visit. Thank you for staying with us when you are in downtown St Pete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Address: 80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
St Petersburg Hampton Inn
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing