We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel and would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Exactly what I expected after reading other reviews.
Pros- location, cleanliness, breakfast buffet
Negatives- the ac unit was loud in the room and hate places w mandatory valet parking

Special surprise- the have DVD players in every room w free DVDs to borrow in the lobby. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Although we strive to be better than expected, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    216
    42
    17
    10
See reviews for
229
256
39
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Staying 3 nights at the Hampton Inn was the best decision we made when planning our trip from Deland FL to the St. Pete area. We opted for the 2 Queen Suite located on the rear corner of the 4th floor. No noise to speak of (hotel and/or street noise), a small view of the water/marina and although the outdoor patio was tiny, it was OK for 2 people... Every staff member we met was fabulous. Friendly, helpful and nice. The Asst Mgr (Tiffany) got my smart phone navigation tool working and that was a major plus since this was our first trip to the Gulf coast. Rooms were clean; beds were great...even though there have been some negative comments about them, my travel partner and I had absolutely nothing bad to say about the entire experience. Location is great regardless of whether you're heading to the beaches or St. Armands Circle... Lots of great restaurants within walking distance.... Hotel breakfast was a nice fresh start to the day. 5 STARS from 2 very picky travelers. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Opt for a 4th floor location... although families with kids might want to be closer to the pool etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJL1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for the great review (especially disspelling the bad bed rumours!). To be considered the best decision someone made about their vacation is truly an honor. We are delighted to have played our part in your enjoyable trip. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Hampton is a perfect location to enjoy all the shopping and dining downtown St Pete; just step out of the hotel and walk to events, museums, the yacht club, and so much more! Some of our favorites; the Savoy Spice Store, Moon Under the Water, and Birchwood Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Location, location, location! We definitely have the most centrally located hotel in downtown St Pete and we are glad you were able to experience all the sights and sounds within walking distance. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a gem of a hotel. It is situated in downtown St. Pete with restaurants within walking distance and a starbucks right up the street. The staff are all so very sweet and will do anything for you. The housekeeping does a great job and the rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank elizab2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for recognizing the effort of our team members who work very hard to make your stay pleasurable. We will continue to work hard every day while we await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Decided to do a quick visit to St Petersburg, FL for the Memorial Day weekend. Haven't spent much time downtown since we usually head to our favorite haunts on the beach. So glad we decided to stay in town this visit and then venture out to the beach. The location was perfect and not having worry about parking downtown was a plus. Valet is $14 per day but worth every penny. We had a late breakfast in the hotel buffet. There was something everyone liked, most importantly the kids, so we were pleased with it. If you decide to eat out there are tons of restaurant choices for fine dining. (Had to venture for more kid friendly options though.) Be prepared to walk to get the full value of your downtown venue.

In the evening, it was adult time and you will not be disappointed especially if you like nice bars with live music. You are literally steps away from Janus Landing and they always have eclectic music choices. I felt safe walking around downtown at night, but hey, it's still the city so you should always be aware of your surroundings.

Staff was friendly and pleasant. I would definitely stay here on a return visit.

Room Tip: Good walking shoes are plus to really see all that downtown has to offer. Try the Central Trolly to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. Yes, there are always plenty of entertainment and dining options in downtown. It's a big reason this city's downtown is more enjoyable than many others. We are glad you enjoyed the visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My friend and I wanted to stay in the Downtown St. Pete area for a vacation getaway. This location is perfect for that. It's walking distance to just about anything you want to do. The room was very nice and clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. My only minor complaint was with the quality of the breakfast items. Especially the scrambled eggs. Otherwise this is great hotel in a great spot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for the recommendation. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had a marvelous experience at the Hampton Inn in St. Petersburg, VA. The staff was extremely friendly, professional, and helpful; the room was spacious and clean; and the pool was fantastic! When I return to St. Petersburg, I plan to return to the Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#8 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.4 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Address: 80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
St Petersburg Hampton Inn
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing